Posted by: saramcglothlin | May 6, 2012

Three Little Words

Everything. In. Moderation.  The coin phrase that gives inspiration to this blog.  It is something I preach to myself on a daily basis, and (attempt) to practice in all aspects of my life.  If I am to be totally honest with myself (and you), I would have to say it has been somewhat of a struggle in some areas.  For example, I love exercising, but not for the calorie-burn or figure-maintaining qualities (although an added bonus), but it is my release; my “me-time” as they say in which I can de-stress and unwind.  However when I was going through a difficult period in my life, I might have taken it a bit too far, to the point where I wasn’t living life to the fullest.  After discovering some of the many different healthy living blogs, they helped me to see what was “normal,” and what life could ultimately be while still maintaining a healthy lifestyle.

So here I am, on my continued search for balance, health and happiness (don’t worry I won’t always be sappy…but this is the intro post).  I am just so glad to finally be apart of something that I identified with for so long.  That being said, on to my first official day as a blogger!

Early this morning, the boyfriend (don’t worry you will meet him eventually) had to leave for work, so I dragged myself out of bed and headed to the gym.  Today I was just in the mood to sweat, so I hopped on the stair climber for 25 minutes to read the latest issue to Self, which being an avid Bethanny Frankel fan, I particularly enjoyed this month’s issue.

Image

I do love Bethanny, not necessarily for her diet advice (I think I simply need bigger portions), but for her energy and downright candidness.  She just seems like a fun chick to hang out with.  Man am I going to miss her show when that’s over this season…

I finished my sweat session with 20 minutes on the treadmill, alternating between 1 minute of walking at 4.5 mph and 1 minute of running at 7.7 mph.  If you ever need to blow some steam, sprint intervals does the trick every time!

By the time I got home, I was pretty hungry.  I whipped up a quick breakfast of Fage yogurt, Kashi GoLean cereal, banana, blueberries, and a blob of almond butter (my “cherry on top!”)

Image

A few hours later, my mom came in town for lunch and a lovely walk around The Fan district (the neighborhood in Richmond where I live) for a  “Kitchen & Garden Tour” sponsored by the local Women’s Club here in town.  We started off at Cafe Caturra , a coffee shop by day, wine bar by night, with a restaurant that serves delicious fresh food.  I am a creature of habit and choose the arugula & goat cheese salad everytime without fail.  I’m a sucker for goat cheese.

My mom had a small plate with 2 crab cakes and a side salad.  I tried the crab cakes and they were quite tasty!

Then it was back to The Fan.  While I must say I don’t really share my mom’s obsession  interest in flowers, plants and gardening, I looove everything kitchen, so I welcomed the activity–and yes of course, the chance to spend time with her.  I saw a bunch of amazing homes with magazine-like kitchens that make you crave cooking.  Plus, I got to practice my photography for the class I will be taking this summer!  The boyfriend says they look like a background image for a desktop computer (he’s quite the comedian), but I think they are quite creative.  OK bear with me, I’m still a beginner.

 

 My favorite (OK this one might actually look like a desktop background…):

After I got home and messed with the banner to my blog (I swear that was going to be the death of me!), I whipped up a green smoothie.  In the mix: apple, frozen mango, 2 handfuls of spinach, 1 tbsp of chia seends,  lite soy milk.

Sunday Night Dinner

My favorite night of the week, as it is the time when I get together with my family (brother, sister-in-law, niece and nephew) for a delicious end-of-the-weekend meal.  My brother Rob has actually become quite the chef.  When I cook, I tend to be more “by the book” if you will, following recipes almost to a tee.  He is what I like to call “the experimenter;” cookbook no where in sight, testing various sauces and spices.  I wish I could be this carefree in the kitchen, but I think the idea of it not turning out right deters me.  Anywho, his dishes came out wonderful once again.  On the menu: steamed artichokes with lemon-butter & balsamic dipping sauces for an appetizer, pork chops and a side salad for the main course.

That is all for now…it is waaay past my bed time and I still have to fold laundry…goodnight!

Responses

  1. LOVE your blog, Sara! Fantastic first post about a poignant topic–it really all boils down to moderation. A little of everything (which sometimes means a lot :))! Can’t wait to follow along on your journey xoxo.

  2. love that you’re blogging! and love you!

  3. […] Laboratory is an amazing organization-can’t wait to share it with you!), barre class, then Sunday night dinner.  Have a good day! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  4. […] last night for example: I went over to my brother’s house for Sunday Night Dinner.  We ended up ordering take-out and I picked portabello for my salad topper.  I used […]

  5. […] off to share my news with my family at Sunday night dinner.  Stay tuned! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

