Posted by: saramcglothlin | May 8, 2012

“Salmon Filet for One Please”

I can’t beleive I have been waking up for my 5 AM workouts this week.  For the past couple of nights, I have gone to bed no earlier than 11 PM, resulting in about 5.5 hours of sleep.  I don’t condone this-I think getting 7 to 8 hours of sleep each night should be a law-but I really haven’t noticed a difference in my energy levels this week either (that is until I crash in a couple of days).  I am almost embarrased to admit that usually on school nights, I  am in bed by 8:30 PM, asleep by 9.  Given that my alarm goes off at 4:45 AM, it is assumable that I would fall asleep that early, but I promise even if I woke up at a later hour, I would still want to crawl in bed with a book.  And I used to be such a night owl…I guess I have calmed down grown to cherish my early bedtimes as I think morning is the best time of day.

Workout

  • 25 minutes on the stairclimber
  • 15 minutes on the treadmill (alternating between walk/sprint intervals, hills)
  • 5 minutes of stretching
This morning was another packed breakfast (and lunch and snacks…who am I kidding, it will be like this every day).  On the menu:
Overnight oats with 1/2 cup rolled oats, 3/4 cup soy milk, mashed banana, blueberries, chia seeds, cinnamon, almond butter blob

It has been way too long since I have had overnight oats.  I guess winter got in the way, but with the weather getting warmer (and staying that way) I knew it wouldn’t be too long until I broke them out.  I do have to say that I don’t like my OO “soupey” at all; that is why I add less milk than others prescribe and other ingredients that thicken them up (chia seeds, cinnamon, mashed banana).  The texture is true chilled oatmeal.  Delish!

Lunch incorporated some leftover curried cauliflower from last night.  This definitely added a little oomph.  I didn’t realize how boring my salads were actually becoming!  It really did make a difference and I am definitely going to try and incorporate more flavor flare into my lunches from now on.

Green salad with mixed greens, cukes, tomatoes, broccoli, chick peas, edamame, grilled chicken, curried cauliflower, goat cheese, apple

 

 

 

Like clockwork, I got hungry a couple of hours later.  Usually in the afternoons, I crave something carby and sweet, but I always make sure to reach for protein because I feel as though that is my fatigue playing tricks on me and protein is what my body needs:

This snack kept me full for a minute hour so later I grabbed a cup of Kashi GoLean cereal (with a couple Spirulina crackers mixed in)  and a tall glass of water. Cue the carby-sweet…at least I tried

On my way home from work, I was trying to think about what I wanted to make for dinner.  Using up the massive bunch of collard greens I bought the other day was definitely on the agenda

So a reoccuring dilemma of mine is the age-old question almost every 20-something, single girl faces at one point in her life.  How do you cook for one, without being wastelful??  I love to cook, and I spend a good amount of time in search of new recipes in cookbooks, magazines, and blogs, after which I get all excited to make something new.  I buy all the necessary ingredients, totally disregarding the fact that the recipe makes 4-6 servings.  Don’t get me wrong, I can do leftovers, I even freeze food from time-to-time, but nothing stays appetizing to me than if I had just made it.  Take the collard greens for example.  The black bean burger wrap I made last night was delicious, but I find that now, I only allow myself to make meals that incorporate the rest of the bunch (I looked it up today-collard greens only stay fresh for 3-4 days…I will have turned into a collard green  trying to eat that whole thing by then!).   Oh well, it could be worse, not to mention that collard greens are a nutrient power house that has tons of fiber, folates, and Vitamins A, C, & K.  Bring it on!

Salmon marinated in honey mustard dressing, sauteed collard greens with olive oil, garlic, crushed red pepper, sea salt, butternut squash purree with a pat of Earth Balance Spread

Oh yea…not to mention when I asked the guy behind the seafood counter for one salmon filet, he responded by asking “Just one?”  Way to rub it in…

Question: What are your favorite single-serving meals?

Responses

  1. Ummm that salmon filet looks gorgeous and HUGE! Definitely sparking a craving here. I am so impressed by what an amazing job you do pre-packing your meals each day. How much time would you say you spend prepping each morning/night?

    • Not too much time actually…I have kinda gotten into a groove as I tend to eat similar things each day. Every Sunday though, I make 4 basic green salads at the salad bar at the grocery store, and then spend some time each night deciding what to add the next morning. I keep it pretty simple!

  2. Hi Sara! Excited about your blog. I find that pasta is easy to make in single servings, and I usually don’t like leftovers either but pasta is an exception to that rule for me. I feel like it even gets better sometimes.

    • Thanks Wesley! I’m glad you found it. Do you have a favorite recipe? I find that I am purely a pasta and red sauce girl but maybe if I had some more exciting options, I would eat it more.


Leave a Reply

Categories

