Posted by: saramcglothlin | May 9, 2012

Savory vs. Sweet

I just ate the most delicious dinner! I love it when you try totally new recipes and they turn out the way you imagine…especially when you have the pressure of cooking for someone else as well.  More on that in a minute.

Workout

I have to admit-it was a little more difficult to get out of bed this morning.  The less than ideal nights sleep must be catching up with me; but since I keep my alarm on the other side of the room, once I got up, I was up and headed to the gym:

  • 10 mins on the treadmill, alternating minutes between 4.5 mph & 7.7 mph.  I also took my incline up the last couple of minutes
  • strength training for 35 minutes, incorporating 30 second jump rope intervals throughout
  • 5 minutes of stretching.

Overnight Oats was my breakfast of choice again this morning.  I’m telling ya, this is the beginning of the kick, just you wait

This batch was extra thick, and totally hit the spot since I was famished by the time I got to work.  Three hours later however, I could feel my blood sugar dropping.  I don’t know about you, but when I get hungry, it is not a slow process, but rather immediate.  Psychologists and dietitians alike might classify this as mental, not physical hunger (trust me I have done my research: “if you’re stomach isn’t growling…”); but no, I know when I get hungry.  I get light-headed, cranky, and lose concentration.  In other words, my friends know not to mess with me when I need to be fed.  This is why I always feel like I need to be prepared with snacks throughout the day.  But this got me thinking about my morning choices, and whether I am fueling my body properly early on in the day.  I prefer sweet over savory, hands down.  This is why my breakfasts consist of oatmeal, cereal, smoothies, yogurt, fruit, and pancakes, over eggs, bacon, etc.  That being said, I wish I liked eggs in the morning, I really do.  I feel like people who eat eggs for breakfast tend to feel more satiated (a likely result of the protein), and don’t experience the drop in blood sugar and energy I do only a few hours later.  While oatmeal definitely fills me up, and also contains protein, I think there is something to be said for eggs.  Moot point for me however; I am too stubborn to eat something I don’t like just for that reason because I know I am still being healthy.  I will just keep snackin’ which is fine with me!

My lunch today was a little boring.  The only thing I had to add to my salad was avocado, so I decided to break out the Annie’s Goddess Dressing to spice it up:

Green salad with grilled chicken, avocado, dollops of Goddess dress, balsamic drizzle, apple

 

Speaking of snacks, mid-afternoon I was definitely craving a Larabar.  I keep a few tucked in my desk drawers for these moments (I have come to really know myself).  Unfortunately, I only had one more flavor left today, whereas usually I like choice:

“Unfortunately” nothing!  This might just be my favorite flavor yet.  I have really grown to love coconut.

After work I headed to the grocery store to pick up some goods for the dinner I was going to cook for the boyfriend.  Let’s just say he is really loving the new blog and the more frequent home cooked meals that go along with it.  On the menu:

Turkey meatballs with spaghetti squash and tomato basil marinara sauce (with a glass of red wine for me!)

  • 1 lb of ground turkey meat
  • 1/2 c Panko breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 c minced red pepper
  • 1/4 c minced onion
  • 1/4 c minced zucchini
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tbsp sea salt
  • 1 tbsp EVOO
  • 1/2 c chicken or vegetable stock
  • 1 spaghetti squash

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Slice the spaghetti squash in half and bake face down for 45 mins – 1 hour.

While the squash cooks, combine turkey meat, breadcrumbs, egg, red pepper, onion, zucchini, Italian seasoning, and sea salt in a large bowl (this is where you get your hands dirty).  Form into 1.5 inch balls.

Heat EVOO in a pan over medium heat.  Cook meatballs in pan for 7-10 minutes, turning frequently.  Add stock towards the end.  Cover and cook for 5 minutes.  Uncover and cook until done.  Serve over spaghetti squash with marinara sauce.

Pour yourself a glass of red wine (if you so choose) and enjoy!

I highly recommend you try this!  I like pasta, but sometimes it is too heavy for me on any given day.  This was light yet fulfilled my craving.

Question: do you prefer savory or sweet in the morning?  Is there a particular breakfast that keeps you full and satisfied more than others?

Responses

  1. I LOVE the coconut cream pie Larabars! Definitely a sweet over savory person 99% of the time. I would have oatmeal/yogurt/toast and nut butter etc. for EVERY meal if it were socially acceptable and somehow magically covered all the food groups!

  2. Both!! I love me a good poached egg and toast, but I don’t cook breakfast at home on weekdays, so my usual breakfast is a smoothie before work and oatmeal or oat bran once I get to work. Definitely agree that even with almond butter and all the fiber, oatmeal just doesn’t keep me full for that long. Wish I could bring eggs to work with me.

  3. I think I am the only one (at least compared to every blog I read) who craves only savory foods first thing in the morning. I will confess that I have actually googled this trying to figure out if my body is telling me something. Haha. I have recently found some savory oat recipes that I want to try out but normal mornings I will cook an egg in a nonstick pan and throw it on a toasted whole grain english muffin with some s&p and eat it on the way to work. Slices of avocado on a toasted english muffin with s&p is something else that I look forward to. I find that savory breakfasts foods that are also portable or make-ahead are few and far between.

    • Hey Alex!! I know what you mean, I feel like all these blogs live and breathe oatmeal etc. However when I do see bloggers eat a delicious-looking egg sandwich (especially if it has avocado on it-I love that combo) I crave one. But I Know in the end, I will want oatmeal/cereal first thing in the day. Also, that is more portable for me to go to work, especially with overnight oats that you put in the fridge the night before and grab right before you walk out the door. But maybe on the weekends I will try and cook eggs every now and then to switch it up. Good to hear from you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

