Posted by: saramcglothlin | May 11, 2012

(Uh oh) It’s the Weekend!

Happy Friday!  Thankfully, the week went by pretty quickly.  Work was super busy which makes me all the more glad that I have a pretty low-key (but still fun!) weekend ahead of me.  Plus, I have something very tasty planned for dinner tonight…

A few years ago, when I was really restrictive with my eating, I dreaded the weekend.  During the week, I was in a routine, and therefore more able to control what I would be having for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  But once the weekend rolled around, I feared that eating out, drinking alcohol, and late night snacking (oh, college) would make me gain weight.  I am not going to lie, the balance between being social and maintaining a healthy approach/mentality is still something I struggle with, but not nearly as extreme.  With my 27th birthday right around the corner, I have grown a little tired of the “bar scene;” however it would be hypocritical of me to say I don’t partake occasionally.  In fact, I went to see a band play in a bar last Friday. But I will also say I had quite a headache the next morning and I notice a huge difference in myself both physically and emotionally when I do.  I have come to realize that is my body’s way of  rejecting that sort of behavior.  I also believe that life is too short to avoid fun and social situations altogether (I have done this before, it’s lonely).  So it all comes full circle: balance and moderation!  Just another aspect of my life to which to apply the golden concept.  Easier said than done?  We shall see…

Workout

I have been craving an outside run recently, but Richmond has reverted back to being cold once again.  Well, mid-40s/low 50s, but I am a baby about the cold.  So I headed to the gym and cranked out 45 minutes on the treadmill, followed by 5 minutes of stretching

My breakfast, lunch, and snacks were pretty same ole’ same ole’:

Over night oats with 1/2 c rolled oats, 3/4 c coconut milk, 1/2 mashed banana, 1 tbsp chia seeds, blueberries, almond butter blob

This only kept me full for 2 hours this morning!  You would think I would have eaten enough calories to get me to at least to 3, but noooo.  It’s OK I was prepared as this isn’t that big of a surprise since I am usually hungrier after a long run

Fage yogurt with red pepper slices

Two hours later around 11:15 AM, I was hungry again (shocker) but not ready to eat lunch yet because I still had some things to scratch off my to-do list at work before being able to take a break, so I snacked on an apple

I knew work was going to be busy today, so I made sure to make a salad at Ellwood Thompson’s last night for lunch today.  Plus by Thursday evening, I usually run out of steam to prepare lunch anyhow

Green salad with cukes, tomatoes, peppers, marinated mushrooms, oven-fried tofu, cashews, balsamic vinegar

After work, I headed to the grocery store to pick up the goods for tonight’s dinner…wait for it…

CHICKEN ENCHILADAS!

I had a hankering for Mexican tonight, and since the boyfriend has a hankering for Mexican every night (I am not exaggerating), I knew it would do the trick.  I got the recipe from Gina at Skinnytaste, and oh. my. gawsh.  No words…well one-delicious!

Chicken enchilada, refried beans, green salad, glass of red wine

And this my friends, is what I call an ideal Friday night.  Good meal, good movie, good company.  Off to finish L.A. Confidential with P, goodnight!

Question: How do you handle parties and other social situations while still living a healthy lifestyle?  Is this something you have to be conscientious about, or are you more of the “go-with-the flow” type?


Leave a Reply

Categories

