Posted by: saramcglothlin | May 12, 2012

A Nice Lil’ Saturday

A few of my favorite activities came together to make this a nice lil’ Saturday.  I woke up early, the sun was shining, the birds were chirping (sounds nice huh?) so I threw on my tennis shoes and went for a short 30 minute run.  I told you I had been craving an outside run lately, and although it was still a little bit chilly, it was calling my name.  However, I knew I wanted to keep it short because I had plans to go to yoga a couple of hours later.  I hadn’t been to yoga in for-e-ver, and boy did it feel good.  I was noticing that during my post-workout stretching sessions, I had been doing a lot of these:

(I just had to use to image with legwarmers-how ’80s is that??)

It wasn’t even a conscientious thing, my body just took me to that position, so I decided it was time to reincorporate yoga into my routine.  I began doing yoga about 8 months ago when I developed plantar fasciitis from doing too much Body Step.  Although I am a cardio fiend primarily enjoy cardio workouts for the intensity and endorphins, I listened to my body and started to take it easy.  Plus, after doing my research, I found out that yoga has many physical, mental, and emotional benefits as well, and let’s just say after my first class, I fell in love.  However, as I was training for the Monument Avenue 10K for the first three months of the year, yoga took the back-burner to early Saturday morning runs, but I have no doubt it will be something I quickly pick back up.

Breakfast this morning was a treat, not only because I could eat it out of a real bowl, but because I incorporated some leftover Banana Oat Muffins into the mix:

Fage yogurt, 1/2 mashed banana, 1/4 c Kashi GoLean, blueberries, 1/2 banana oat muffin, almond butter blob, cinnamon

And a much-needed coffee

On my way to yoga, I noticed that the Monument Market is back in town!  This farmer’s market is literally right around the corner from my apartment.  I made a note to myself to go directly there when I got back:

I just love farmer’s markets, not only for the fresh, local food, but the atmosphere and people are just delightful.  Yes, that is how I would describe it: delightful.  I walked away with some beautiful looking beets, a case of strawberries, and asparagus.  I have eaten asparagus all year-round, but when it is in season (now) you can really tell the difference.  I also picked up some tips on how to cook it from the grower herself.

Yep, already have plans to put these babies into a smoothie later on today…

Because the boyfriend was working today, I met him for lunch at Ellwood Thompson’s (his pick I swear, although I did not protest!).  I will never get sick of that place:

Green salad with a specialty-made sun-dried tomato lentil burger, 1/2 avocado, balsamic dressing

Oops, I forgot to take a picture until I was almost done (I was hungry), but here it is…use the imagination.

A couple of hours later, I was hungry again; I figured that maybe I didn’t include enough protein into my lunch, so I looked up the nutritional information for lentils:

Per Wikipedia, “With about 30% of their calories from protein, lentils have the third-highest level of protein, by weight, of any legume or nut, after soybeans and hemp.”

So scratch that thought.  OK, must have been the run + yoga this morning, duh.  I went for a protein snack anyway and grabbed this lil’ guy coupled with a tall glass of water:

I’m off to run some errands and get ready for my niece’s birthday dinner tonight…then the boyfriend and I are headed to Farmville, VA for his little brother’s college graduation ceremony/party tomorrow.  Have a good rest of your Saturday!

Question: What are some activities that make your weekend?

Responses

  1. Your day really does sound delightful! That’s the exact word I would have used :). Hope the evening has been just as good!

  2. […] a 5 minute cool-down while walking on the treadmill, and 5 minutes of stretching.  I found myself going into downward dog again…I think my body is trying to tell me something.  If only we could do downward dog in barre […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

