Posted by: saramcglothlin | May 13, 2012

Practice What You Preach

The latter half of my weekend was filled with festivities, friends and family.  Having to be conscientious of moderation was definitely necessary as these types of situations are also filled with lots of eating and drinking.  However, I allowed myself to enjoy everything while keeping myself in check.  Here are some pictures to sum it all up…I’ve got to go to bed.  Gnight!

Niece’s 10th Birthday Dinner: Cheese plate appetizer; Asian Barbecue Chicken with rice pilaf

P’s brother’s college graduation ceremony/party (with an impromptu stop at the Farmville, VA farmer’s market on the way home)

Breakfast consisted of quiche made with spinach and feta (courtesy of P’s mom.  If I ever get the recipe, I will be sure to post it):

I had myself a sliver…

Buffet-style lunch: Veggies, grapes, swiss cheese, whole wheat crackers with crab dip

Unfortunately, I was too busy kicking butt in corn hole socializing to get my hands on one of these:

Farmer’s market 2x in 1 weekend?  Fine by me, now all’s I’ve got to do is figure out some new recipes, which I’m not complaining about either!

P.S. I’ve never cooked eggplant before; this was a little bit of an impulse buy…Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

By the time P and I got back to Richmond, it was dinner time, so we swung by Burger Bach on our way home.  It is a new restaurant here in town that serves only organic and lean grass-fed beef; they also make their own organic catsup and other specialty sauces daily:

Basic Burger with lettuce, tomato, avocado, mustard;  side salad

No portion-control exhibited here, I ate the whole thing.  On that note…I hope you had a wonderful weekend as well!

Responses

  1. […] met Patrick’s sister-in-law Bea (who you saw here) at Barre for her introductory class.  Turns out she loved it and bought the new student’s […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

