Posted by: saramcglothlin | May 14, 2012

Farmer’s Market Makings

Today I was able to incorporate all the goods I got over the weekend.  For a while, I had been stuck in such a rut with my meals, using the same ingredients day after day, it is no wonder I have gone a little overboard decided to switch it up a little.  Last night I admitted to never having cooked an eggplant; I felt very lost when trying to figure out what to do with it.  But just you wait…it’s amazing what a simple Google search can do (although I must say, sometimes I do miss a good ole’ fashion cookbook…but there is just so much to offer out there on the world-wide-web!)

Workout

I took a break from exercising yesterday so this morning when I woke up I craved me some cardio.  I headed to the gym with my Oxygen magazine in one hand, Real Simple  in another with the intention of doing a 45 minute circuit using various machines.  However, the Oxygen magazine got me through 40 minutes on the stairclimber (something I’ve never done as I usually get bored after 20 mins).  After that, I was done.

Work was supposed to slow down a bit relative to the past 3 weeks, so I was able to take some time this morning to prepare both breakfast and lunch.  On the menu:

Oatbran with 1/2 c coconut milk, 1/2 c water, 1/2 mashed banana, 1 egg white, cinnamon, strawberries, almond butter blob

Green salad with chicken curry (pulled chicken, whole-grain mustard, black pepper, curry powder to taste), walnuts, avocado, grapefruit

After work I was in the mood to get my hands dirty in the kitchen.  I don’t know about you, but I tend to be really picky about my almond butter.  I’m a “crunchy” girl at heart, but my grocery store has only offered smooth for the longest time.  So, what do I do? Make my own:

Read ingredients: “dry-roasted almonds.”  I know you can buy a jar of almond butter that is just that, but nothing beats the consistency of the homemade stuff.  I urge you to try it, it’s worth the hassle.  I’ve even read about including honey, cinnamon, etc, but I have yet to try it.  I don’t really like my almond butter very sweet as well.  Yes, I was a picky eater as a child.

Within 5 minutes I realized what I wanted to do with my eggplant.  After a quick Google search I decided on “Eggplant Pizza.” I was excited two times over as the inspiration came from a favorite blog of mine:  Healthy Tipping Point.  I took the basic concept of her recipe and made it my own, as I tend to do.

Pesto Eggplant Pizza

  • One eggplant cut in half
  • 1/3 c chopped onion
  • 1 diced tomato
  • 1/3 c chopped mushrooms
  • 1/4 c black olives
  • 1/2 c chopped green bell pepper
  • spinach
  • 1/2 c white beans
  • 1 tbsp pesto
  • 1 tbsp EVOO
  • red pepper
  • parmesan cheese

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Cut the eggplant in half.  Scoop out the insides and dice.

Heat skillet over medium high heat.  Add 1 tbsp of olive oil and veggies of your choice.  Saute for about 10 minutes.  Add the tomatoes, spinach and white beans and saute an additional 2-3 minutes.

Transfer the veggie mixture to a small bowl.  Add dollop of pesto and mix

Spread evenly in the eggplant shell.  Top with parmesan cheese and crushed red pepper (optional; I like some heat).  Bake for 30 minutes

Serve with side of your choice.

It was a dessert kind of day, so I topped 1/2 Banana Oat Muffin with almond butter and a piece of dark chocolate

I am really proud of myself for 2 reasons.  First of all, I incorporated a Farmer’s Market find into every meal.  Most importantly, since I didn’t know that much about eggplants, I took it upon myself to do some research (you’ve heard that before) and looked up the nutritional content and benefits.  I also stumbled upon the “history” of the eggplant and how it got its name, but I will save that for another day.

Eggplants are very low in saturated fat, cholesterol and rate very low on the GI scale.  It is also a good source of Vitamin K, Thiamin, Vitamin B6, Folate, Potassium and Manganese, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber (especially if you leave the skin on!).

Of course I noticed the lack of protein, so I added the white beans.  Caitlin from HTP added tofu, which I can imagine would be good as well.  There is so much flexibility with this recipe, which is why I believe I have found a keeper.

Question: How do you like your nut butters? Crunchy or Smooth?  Have you ever made your own?

Responses

  1. Dinner looks delicious! But it’s that DESSERT that’s really calling my name. Do you just pick it up and eat it with the chocolate bar on top? I feel like I’d wanna melt it and eat it all together with a spoon :). And I’m proud of your accomplishments too!

  2. […] delivery service she uses.  She asked me about some ways I cook eggplant, and I raved about the Pesto Eggplant Pizza I made recently.  She looked at me confused, and now I know why.  There is no way you could […]

  3. […] almonds in a food processor until the point when it is just about to form “the ball.”  Add the other 2 ingredients.  Use your hands to knead the dough into a ball, and then using a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

