Posted by: saramcglothlin | May 16, 2012

Something New and Different

I am not sure how to say this as I don’t know how it will be received in the healthy blogging community, so I am just going to do it quickly: I ate quail for dinner last night…

Like ripping off a band-aid.

I have never eaten quail before, so when the boyfriend told me that was what he was grilling, I set aside the images of the beautiful bird and thought of it as a good source of protein.

If I had any complaints about the differences between the boyfriend and I, it would simply be this: he is a huge carnivore.  That is not even a complaint really, but a difference if you will.  I am not a vegetarian (clearly), nor will I ever become one (never say never), but he likes to eat meat a lot.  I at least like to balance my meals if I can.  For example, if I eat meat for lunch (usually chicken or turkey), I try and have a vegetarian dinner.  This is for no reason except that is what my body tends to want.  Well my body’s opinion on this matter has taken a back-seat in this relationship…it’s all about compromise I guess.

Workout

  • 15 minute warm-up on the elliptical
  • 30 minute strength training

I didn’t want oatmeal this morning (which is weird) so I decided to make a breakfast wrap instead.

Whole-wheat wrap with almond butter, banana, strawberries, cinnamon

Lunch was an oldie but a goodie:

Green salad with grilled chicken, edamame, chickpeas, sweet potato slices, avocado

I had a rough and stressful long day at work, so the boyfriend and I enjoyed a beer and chilled out before heading to our friends’ house for dinner.  Just what the doctor ordered.

When we got to Chad and Sara’s, I set out some hummus and pita chips (which were devoured in about 10 minutes) and had a white wine spritzer on the side

Quail, smoked turkey meat, black bean salad, sautéed okra, cucumber/tomato/feta salad

To be honest, I liked the quail.  I don’t think I will make it a household staple, but it was good.  Tasted like chicken…

I have a fun dinner tonight with one of my best friends Kate at a new restaurant I’m excited to try (has a vegetarian focus thank goodness!).  Stay tuned!

Responses

  1. That quail looks amazing! I’ve eaten my fair share since my dad loves to go on quail hunts and insists (rightfully) on eating what he catches. It’s like chicken but I think, better!

    • OK, I’m glad you agree…my friend Chad cooked it in a smoker (which I had never seen before) and I’ll tell you what, it was amazing!

  2. […]  As the week goes on, I will throw some different toppings to switch up the flavor (like here and here), but in general, it all tastes the same.  The same goes for my snacks as well.  My […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

