Posted by: saramcglothlin | May 19, 2012

Filthy 5K Mud Run and the Richmond Riverrock Festival

On most days, I tend to feel like a kid in my mind.  My driver’s license says I’m almost 27, but I can tell you I feel like a fraud.  This is why I have not been more in my element as I was participating in the Filthy 5K Mud Run last night.  Every year, Dominion Virginia Power of Richmond hosts the Riverrock Festival, a three day event with music, sports, games, and of course lots of beer.  When the boyfriend told me about the 5K Mud Run a few months back, I had no idea what I was getting into, but thought it sounded fun.  Chyea, was it ever! I will have to say that the first leg of the course was running straight uphill and across the James River, and at one point, I got a li-ttle noivous.  But as soon as it took us winding through the forest trails, I was loving it!  I think I had a smile on my face the entire time.

Sometimes I dread running and have always characterized myself as a “non-runner.”  It was not until I started training for the 10K a few months back that I realized my potential.  This compelled me to read the book Born to Run by Christopher McDougall, which I would highly recommend by the way.  In it, he made a point that really struck a chord with me.  Thinking back to when we were kids (physically), remember how it was to run outside, on the playground, in the backyard etc.  Never was there a moment when you thought to yourself “ugh I hate this, my legs feel like cement and I just want to stop and walk.”  No, it wasn’t stereotyped as exercise, it was actually fun.  And as cheesy as it may sound, that is exactly how I felt.  There was no rap music screaming in my ears to run faster, no wondering how many calories I’m burning, it was just me and nature (+ the 50 other runners around me) enjoying what our bodies are meant to do.  Plus, a massive mud pit at the finish line which was super fun to crawl through!  The free drink ticket as a congratulatory token didn’t hurt either.

My trophy…

We hung around for about an hour afterwards listening to music, catching up with friends, and watching some of the sports…and hello, slacklining?? Has anyone else never heard of this? My eyes were wide with awe, and I think my abs got stronger just watching it!

A group of us headed off to The Continental for dinner.  By the time we ate, it was 10 PM and I was starving. No salad for me, give me pizza and sweet potato fries! Love.

Pizza with kale, broccolini, roasted red peppers, onions, tomatoes

 

I saved half to give to the boyfriend for lunch, but someone left the to-go box in my fridge…finders keepers…

I’m off to yoga!

Question: Have you ever participated in a Mud Run/Muddy Buddy? What is an “exercise” that makes you feel like a kid again?

 

Responses

  1. […] what I wanted to do with my afternoon! (What did I tell ya…kid on the inside).  It was such a beautiful day outside and perfect for a bike ride.  I have to say it was also […]

  2. […] Running in the Filthy 5K Mud Run at Richmond’s Riverrock Festival […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

