Posted by: saramcglothlin | May 20, 2012

Soy Nut Butter Blunder

After yoga, running errands, and cleaning my house (welcome to my typical Saturday morning), I grabbed lunch at Ellwood’s to bring over to the boyfriend’s house while he was on his lunch break.  I hit the salad bar for some greens, on top of which I added a sun-dried tomato lentil burger, 1/2 avocado, and O&V dressing.  I was also craving a grapefruit…I love it when I can pair the word “craving” with something healthy!

As we were eating, I looked back into the corner of his mud room and saw this little beauty:

That’s what I wanted to do with my afternoon! (What did I tell ya…kid on the inside).  It was such a beautiful day outside and perfect for a bike ride.  I have to say it was also pretty calming and I was able to just enjoy myself.  The exercise aspect was an added bonus, although it sure didn’t feel like it!

Afterwards, I headed to the grocery store to pick up some items for dinner.  Then, I stumbled upon a blast from the past:

I used to eat these by the handful.  They are a great snack, especially if mixed with cereal or nuts and dried fruit.  Lot’s of protein-power for sure, but I just ate them sooo much a couple of years back, that I got sick of them (i.e. another previous kick of mine).  But because I am trying to think of more ways in which to incorporate protein into my day, I couldn’t pass them up.  So what do you do with lemons?  Make lemonade…or in this case nut butter!

Round and round she goes…

Wait a tick…that doesn’t look right.  Mind you, it was pure powder by this point.  I make almond butter often by just dumping in the almonds, turning on my food processor until ta-da! Almond butter.  Nope, not one in the same.  Clearly I was missing something and thank goodness for the internet.  Next time when I am unsure of how to do something, I will remember to Google search first.  Right away I found Elise’s recipe for soy nut butter, which called for water and EVOO.  Oh.  Let’s try this again.  I gradually added about 2 cups of water and a tbsp of EVOO to the mix:

There’s the nut butter ball I know and love!  While the consistency didn’t come out exactly as planned, it did the trick on an empty stomach

I bet now I can probably use this thing they call the internet to find some recipes which use soy nut butter as an ingredient.  There has to be a cookie recipe out there somewhere…

Yep.

Thanks Wishfulchef!  Stay tuned for these babies.

The boyfriend was working until 8PM, so I promised to make him something he has been asking for:

As you can see-my personal cookbook.  I refer to this notebook all the time.  It has been about 3 years in the making and consists of recipes I find in various magazines.  And yes, I even organized it by category.  Sue me, I’m a type-A personality people!

Courtesy of Good Housekeeping:

Chicken Lettuce Cups

  • 3 tbsp reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tsp grated ginger
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1.25 lbs chicken tenders cut into 1/4 inch chunks
  • 1 c shelled edamame
  • 2 med. celery stalks chopped
  • Boston lettuce leaves

In a cup, combine soy sauce, ginger, and honey.  Set aside.  Heat 12-in skillet with sesame oil over medium heat for about 1 min.  Add chicken chunks and cook 3 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Add edamame and cook 2 minutes.  Stir in celery and cook 2 more minutes.  Add soy sauce mixture and cook until chicken is done (about 2-3 more minutes).  Arrange chicken mixture in lettuce leaves and serve.

I also “invented” my own side of Red Pepper Quinoa with Goat Cheese

  • 1/2 c uncooked quinoa
  • 1 c chicken stock
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 1 tbsp EVOO
  • goat cheese to taste

In a small pot, bring quinoa and chicken stock to a boil.  Lower to a simmer and cook until done (about 10-15 minutes).  While the quinoa is cooking, heat EVOO in a small skillet over medium-high heat.  Saute red pepper for 10 minutes.  Stir red pepper in the pot with the cooked quinoa.  Cook 2-3 more minutes or until quinoa has absorbed all of the stock.  Place in bowl and set aside until quinoa mixture is room temperature.  Add goat cheese.

As I always do (because I think making a satisfying meal is so gratifying) I immediately asked him what he thought.

“They’re really good,” he said.

Hmm.  Usually he sounds a little more enthusiastic.  Before I could say anything else he continued:

“If I could say one thing, they might need a little more sauce…”

Sauce?? I added sauce!

“…ya know, like the peanut sauce…”

Ohhh, he wants the highly caloric peanut sauce.

“…but I guess these are a lot healthier than the ones you get in restaurants.”

Um, yea, this isn’t P.F. Chang’s over here.  The difference?  A whopping 270 calories!

P.F. Chang’s Lettuce Wraps: 530 calories per serving.  My/Good Housekeeping Lettuce Wraps: 260 calories per serving.

And I think we have a winner!

I’m off to go walk my friend’s dog.  Have a wonderful Sunday!

Question: In which ways do you find recipes the most: cookbooks, magazines, internet, blogs?

Responses

  1. wow…those cookies look insane!! glad you found me so i can follow you too now 🙂

    • I know me too! I ended up making them just now but made some tweaks of my own, and yes they were awesome

  2. […] scallops, soba noodle salad, Brussel sprouts I started with the same concoction as for the chicken lettuce cups the other […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

