Posted by: saramcglothlin | May 20, 2012

Sunday Funday

Well, for me at least.  Not too long ago, if someone had said “Sunday Funday,” I would have immediately thought of a beautiful day, beer in hand on a patio, maybe a sporting event on the T.V…you get the picture.  But these days, I tend to spend my sunny Sundays being active, reading a book on my porch, and/or cooking something good in my kitchen (nerd alert, I know).

I started out the morning with a favorite of mine…No, not oatmeal.  Usually by the weekend, I don’t really want oatmeal because I have it a lot during the work week (this doesn’t last long; come Monday I’m right back on that train).

0% Fage yogurt, 1/2 mashed banana, 1/4 c Kashi GoLean, blackberries, topped with the other 1/2 sliced banana, cinnamon, coffee.

Then I decided to help out my best friend’s parents while they were away by offering to walk their dog.  They didn’t even ask me, I just really wanted to because I love the companionship a dog can bring on a walk.  Not having one is a continuous void in my life, but with my job and the hours I work, it wouldn’t be fair.  One day (sigh).

I could have driven over there, but it was such a pretty day and I wanted to be outside.

  • Walk to the house: 40 minutes
  • Walking Sophie: 30 minutes
  • Walk back home: 40 minutes

Fwew! I was tired and hongry by the time I got back.  It was way past my normal lunch time, but I kind of forgot about lunch while on my little adventure.  That never usually happens to me.  I quickly threw together a wrap and paired it with a smoothie

Whole wheat wrap with pesto, goat cheese, egg whites, red pepper flakes; green smoothie with strawberries, mango, peach, spinach

I definitely had a sweet tooth afterwards, and wanted to do some baking, so I though it was the perfect opportunity to make the Soy Nut Butter Cookies I mentioned on my last post.  I didn’t have the chocolate soy nut butter that the recipe called for, so I just used my regular home-made batch and added an extra tbsp of cocoa powder.

Chocolate Soy Nut Butter Cookies

  • 1 c soy nut butter
  • 1 c whole wheat flour
  • 3 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/4 c agave
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp canola oil
  • 2 tbsp coconut milk
  • 1 egg
  • non-stick cooking spray

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix well.  Form the dough into 1 inch balls and place onto cookie sheet.  Using the bottom of a glass, press balls to form patties.  Bake 8 minutes and allow cookies to cool.

Oh yes I did.  I added a dollop of Truwhip between 2 cookies to make a healthified “whoopie pie.”  Delish and filling.  I wish I knew the protein count.  They definitely had that satisfying feeling you get after eating a protein bar or something, which I don’t eat a lot of because sometimes I feel like I’m eating fake food (Larabars are an exception).  I just prefer going au naturale.

I’m off to my brother’s house for Sunday night dinner, hope everyone had a sweet Sunday as well (pun intended)!

Question: How do you like to spend your Sundays?

Responses

  1. Were these as delicious as they look!?! Love the idea of making a healthy whoopie-pie of sorts with them! I bet you could sub other kinds of nut butter too?

    • They were definitely good…tasted very healthy but then again I like that taste. You could definitely make them with other kinds of nut butters. the original recipe also called for coconut oil which I want to try next. The thing was how filling they were! I ate two today as a snack and it kept me full for hours. Always a plus


Leave a Reply

Categories

