Posted by: saramcglothlin | May 22, 2012

Exercising Portion Control

And what I really mean is applying portion control to exercise…you’ll see…

This morning I did not want to get out of bed.  I know I may be the minority, but this is very uncharacteristic of me.  Although my alarm goes off at 4:45 AM to hit the gym (which might be considered insane to the average person), I am ready to start my day, especially because of the good workout to come before having to walk into the office.

But like I said, I was about one or two more hours of sleep away from becoming the “go-getter” I just described above.  I pressed the snooze button (which to be honest I don’t think I have done since college) and laid there (not asleep) for about 10 minutes.  The onset of my day came rushing towards me and went something like this: It is going to be a crazy day at work…I have a late afternoon meeting…then will have to stay another hour or so to get stuff done…you see by now-which in real-time only took about 10 seconds-any hope of exercising after work was non-existent.  Does this every happen to anyone else??

I didn’t make myself go to the gym, well, because I didn’t want to.  But I knew I “wanted” to do something, meaning at the time I didn’t, but was certain of how much better I would feel afterwards (do you see how I rationalize with myself??).  So I simply put on my tennis shoes, grabbed my iPod and walked out the door.  Simple enough.  I will start with a walk…

I love walking, I really do.  Never when I am in the middle of a walk do I find myself saying “this really sucks.”  I have also gotten more into running this year (and who can forget that good ole’ “runner’s high”), and therefore I haven’t been going on many walks until very recently.  Coupled with the fact that I was training for my first 10K, I really pushed myself to run and not walk.  But this morning, I found a happy medium, guilt-free.  Plus, I ended up incorporating some intervals and jogged half the time anyway.  That being said, I can’t help but feel as though maybe I put too much pressure on myself.  Is it good that I got up (even when I really didn’t want to) and did something?  Or should I have given myself a break and allowed myself to sleep in?  Where would the ideal balance be?  I know the answer may be “do what is right for you,” but what do you think??

After that, it was pretty much a regular day.  Here are my meals amidst a crazy day.

OO with 1/2 c rolled oats/oat bran mix, 3/4 c soy milk, 1 tbsp chia seeds, 1/2 mashed banana, blackberries, almond butter blob

Green salad with grilled chicken, curried cauliflower, avocado, balsamic drizzle, apple (not pictured)

2 soy nut butter cookies

Can you say satisfying?  These things are amazing and very filling if you can believe it or not!

For dinner, the boyfriend and I made plans to order take-out from my favorite pizza place just around the corner from my apartment, but that wasn’t going to be for another 3.5 hours from the time I got off work.  When I am hungry, I can’t wait 3.5 minutes, so I stopped to get a snack.

As you have probably learned by now, I am not just a girl who can snack (or “graze” as they say) throughout the day; I also can’t have just 3 meals; I’m a little bit of both.  This is why when I want a snack, my body quickly tells me what I am in the mood for: salty? sweet? fruit? veggies? nuts?  But today, I wanted salty and sweet, fruit and nuts (man I can be so stubborn sometimes), so I did just that and exercised a bit of portion control:

Banana- almond butter  smoothie with soy yogurt and a handful of ET’s “Zen Party Mix”

I made myself use a plastic ramekin for the snack mix.  I know myself, and when I get really hungry, particularly on top of a stressful day, I can do damage to some snack mix.  The smoothie was also really filling so it was the perfect amount.

Let me preface dinner by saying there is a good handful of restaurants that claim to have “Richmond’s Best Pizza,” but 8 1/2 has got to be the winner.  I swear, you can top your pizza with all the toppings in the world, but really what makes a good pizza is the crust…thin crust is just how I like it

White pizza with onions, mushrooms, pesto, arugula salad, butternut squash puree

Glass of white wine for dessert!

Goodnight!

Responses

  1. Omg Kathleen told me about the Gregg Almond and I almost got it last time I was there but wanted something fruitier! Next time…AND the pizza place :). Regarding your decision this morning–I think it comes down to whether or not you felt energized after your semi-exercise. Did it make you more tired/want to crawl back in bed, or did your body seem to appreciate? I know it’s not always easy to tell in those situations, and I’ve definitely gone both ways before!


Leave a Reply

Categories

