Posted by: saramcglothlin | May 24, 2012

Counting Down…

The 10 whole glorious days of vacation I get off from work starts in approximately 20 hours! I have not had a material amount of time off in almost a year and a half, so I am looking forward to it to say the least.  I am not one to lazy around however; it just means I will have my days free to do the things that make me happy when work isn’t taking over my life I have some leisure time. These activities will entail sleeping in past 4:45 AM (!), trying out some new exercise classes at the gym (BodyAttack anyone?), coming up with some new recipes (especially for breakfast…time to take a break from the overnight oats in tupperware), and of course working on my blog.  Ever since I began blogging, I have loved every minute of it, but given the short window of time from when I get home from work to when I want to go to bed, I feel as though I haven’t really been able to really focus on the design/layout, topics, and readership.  I need to go out there and make my name known!

I also have a short trip planned to my friend’s river house on the Virginia coast this coming weekend.  And did I forget to mention I will be headed to the beach next Wednesday through Sunday??  Hallelujah!  I need sand and sun in my life.

My kick-off to summer does not end there.  After my time off is up, I have my birthday to look forward to, ending the celebration with a trip to NYC to visit one of my best friend’s from college!  All in the next 3 weeks…fwew, it is a little overwhelming now that I think about it.  Amidst all the fun I will be having however, I do want to keep my “eyes on the prize” (that being balance), as sometimes I tend to get caught up in the moment, and “let loose” as they say.  I am not going to lie, I have a bit of a wild side, which in the past couple of years have been trying (and wanting) to tame.  And while I don’t like to give myself “rules,” (you should have seen my teenage years), for me I know it is necessary in order to maintain a healthy mentality.

These rules are not set in stone by any means, but here are just a few I would like to keep in mind:

  • Do something active for at least 30 minutes a day, whether it is going on a run, riding a bike, walking on the beach (and other beach activities), yoga, etc.  This will not be hard for me as I love to go on a run/walk in unfamiliar places.  It’s good to switch things up, ya know?
  • Listen to your body with meals and snacking.  This is important in my mind, because I want to enjoy everything, just not veg out like I have done in the past.  Plus, knowing when you’re full is key, because being too full is just plain uncomfortable (hello, bathing suit season??)
  • Limit yourself to 2-3 alcoholic drinks a day.  Enough said.
  • Wear sunscreen.

All I can say, is that I truly want to enjoy these next few weeks.  I don’t want to regret anything about my behavior or mentality, which includes over-thinking things.  Live in the moment.

Question:  How do you manage to stay happy and healthy when on vacation or amidst a whirlwind of social events?

Starting next week, you will not see one more tupperware container of overnight oats.  Even I am getting sick of my kick.  I definitely have some new ideas in mind, that will hopefully be portable as well, so stay tuned!  As for today, it was another batch of OO:

1/2 c oat bran, 1/2 c soy milk, 1/2 mashed banana, chia seeds, blackberries, cinnamon, almond butter blob

In my defense, I will have to say this is the first time I used oat bran and not rolled oats.  I also used 1/4 c less of soy milk than I usually use.  The result?  Extra thick a creamy OO!  Kinda tasted like a cold, mushy pancake…OK that might not be doing it justice, but let’s just say this might be my new method.

Although lunch was another salad, it did incorporate some new flavor flare, something that I have not had in a long time (note to self: come up with new lunch ideas as well).

Green salad with grilled chicken, sun-dried tomatoes, 1/2 avocado, white balsamic drizzle, and another not-pictured apple

Does anyone else have a piece of fruit as a “dessert” everyday?  My lunch in incomplete without it.

I finished off my soy nut butter cookies yesterday (these will be a kitchen staple for me) so I had a spoonful of soy nut butter a couple of hours after lunch.  I really needed a protein boost this afternoon.  Snack #2 was more of a shmorgasboard

2% cottage cheese, pretzels, cashews

Not pretty, but it did the trick…

I stopped at ET’s on my way home to pick up some items for dinner.  I was supposed to go to a dinner downtown with a group of friends, but I had been going and going all week, that I knew I needed to come right home after work instead.  This is something I have been struggling with recently, but am getting more comfortable with saying no when necessary.  I always hate to be a let down, but sometimes you have to do what is right for you and your well-being.  I hear this gets easier with age?

I walked into the Ellwood’s with scallops on my mind.  I know that is random, but maybe it was because I was supposed to be eating out, and I order scallops at restaurants whenever they are available.  They might just be my favorite seafood…bold statement?  Maybe.

As I was thinking what to pair with them, I knew I wanted to go in the direction of Asian, and when I eyed the Soba Noodle Salad in the pre-prepared section, my mind was made up and a meal was born.

Honey-soy-ginger scallops, soba noodle salad, Brussel sprouts
I started with the same concoction as for the chicken lettuce cups the other night

Soy sauce, ginger, honey (to taste; I didn’t measure)

Heat 1 tbsp of sesame oil over medium-high heat

Here is a good trick to use on Brussel sprouts; I don’t know exactly what it does, but it makes a difference.  After cutting off the bottom of the sprout, use your knife to make an “X” incision.  Bake on 350 degrees for 25 minutes

And voila! Really fun to eat with chopsticks…

I had a lil’ sweet tooth afterwards, so I slapped together 3 of my favorite tastes for a simple yet satisfying dessert

Dark chocolate square, almond butter, frozen banana slice

I have to go pack for the river…goodnight!

Responses

  1. Ummm scallops are hands-down my favorite seafood dish, when they’re done right! So do you just add the sauce on top after you take them out of the pan? So excited to see you in a mere TWO weeks!

    • I heat the sesame oil in the pan first and drop the scallops down. I cook them for 3 minutes each side and then pour the sauce over and cook until done. I don’t know if this is the right way but it worked! Can’t wait to see you!!!

  2. […] though I am on vacation, I am not the type of person who will do nothing with my day.  Like I said last week, I want to use this time off from work to do the things I don’t normally get to do (try new […]

  3. […]  Therefore, I have no problem flying solo this time around.  I already had a wonderful week of vacation earlier this summer filled with friends and family.  That being said, I am going to take…no […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

