Posted by: saramcglothlin | May 27, 2012

Sitting on the Dock of the Bay

I can’t believe it is already Sunday!  Where has the weekend gone?  At least it is a long weekend for most and vacation for me.  So in essence, it is really Saturday.

The weekend started off on a very good foot, well after I got off work.  Friday day was very hectic as I was trying to get everything done before I left.  Not to mention that my alarm never went off at the usual 4:45 AM.  Thank goodness I woke myself up at 6:15 but still, I became a little upset that I did not get a work out in that morning, especially since I took the day off the day before.  I can’t remember the last time I went 2 days in a row without doing something active.  However, I quickly talked myself down from this feeling of frustration, remembering that the world will not end because I didn’t work out.  I should not beat myself up over it because I know I will just pick it up the next day.  Does anyone else ever beat themselves up for missing a work out?

I didn’t pack my lunch, so I quickly ran out to grab a sandwich.  I did remember to pack the last half of an avocado I had in my fridge, so I ordered a turkey sandwich on marble bread with lettuce, tomato, and spicy mustard, and added sliced avocado.  Then I paired it with a grapefruit.

After work, the boyfriend and I packed up the car and headed to Deltaville, VA to stay at our friend’s river house for the night.  I knew we would be eating late, so when we stopped for gas, I picked up some fixin’s to add to the cup of Kashi GoLean I had in my purse.  I tend to keep this snack with me at all times, and I do well with just eating the cereal plain, but I knew I needed something chocolately a little extra.  It hit the spot.

Self-made trail mix with Kashi GoLean, mixed nuts, pretzel M&Ms

As soon as we walked in the door, I could feel myself just relax. I will tell you, I am a different person when I am on the water.  My mood improves and I feel stress-free.  How could I not?

The occasion definitely called for a cold one, and to be honest, it wasn’t my last, but I remembered to maintain a healthy mind throughout the whole night, which is what is important to me!

I was in charge of making the salad for dinner.  At the grocery store on the way in, I picked up some lettuce, grape tomatoes, cucumber, red peppers, and some goat cheese.

Has anyone ever had this brand of goat cheese??  I normally get the “log” kind that crumbles, but this was ultra-creamy.  I simply plopped it in the bowl of salad, and it coated everything.  I didn’t even have to use a dressing.  I’m thinking how well it would go as a spread on a sandwich.  The combinations are a’brewin!  We also added some corn at the very end, which was a very good addition.

Everyone else was planning to have hot dogs for dinner, but P picked up a chicken breast for me at the grocery store.  He knows me so well.  I am not a hater of hot dogs by any means, but I don’t really eat them.  Something about processed meat is a bit of a turn-off.  My dinner plate consisted of grilled chicken, salad, and a bite of P’s turkey breast.

I later had a pinch of the walnut-raisin No-Knead Bread for dessert, made by my friend Eric.  I had never heard of this before, but I am definitely going to try and make it.  I have always wanted to make bread, but the thought it always sounded so arduous.  This method however sounds simple enough.  Be on the look out for it!

I woke up the next morning not hung-over, which is always such a good feeling!  I started the day with a 4-mile run.  Although it was not the easiest run, it wasn’t so bad looking at the bay the entire time.

While everyone else was having bacon, eggs, and fried potatoes back at the house, I threw together something a little more on the healthy side:

Cinnamon-raisin english muffin with Barney Almond Butter and banana, Fage yogurt with the rest of the Barney Butter and Banana

I definitely got some comments about my meal.  “Why don’t you just let go and eat unhealthy for once?”  Before, I might have felt self-conscious about going against the crowd, but not now.  I responded that I honestly prefer my meal over theirs, not just for the health factor, but because this is what my body craves.  I think something along the lines of “I’m jealous” came out of his mouth 🙂

The rest of the day consisted of swimming, boat rides, and lots of sun.  I’ve got a sunburn to prove it.  I swear I wore sunscreen!

How cute is that??

Definitely a great trip for sure.

I’m off to BodyStep class.  Be back soon!

Responses

  1. […] at the beach, river, or pool with my friends, although I did get a dose of being on the water on Friday/Saturday.  On that note, I realize that the holiday means so much more, so at least I have kept that in […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

