Posted by: saramcglothlin | May 28, 2012

A Lazy (Memorial) Day

As soon as I got back in bed after my breakfast this morning, I knew today was going to be a lazy day.  It’s weird because usually on Memorial Day, I am either at the beach, river, or pool with my friends, although I did get a dose of being on the water on Friday/Saturday.  On that note, I realize that the holiday means so much more, so at least I have kept that in mind throughout the day…God bless America and the people who serve!

My protein pancake this morning was very filling at the time, but the lunch bell rang not long after (aka my stomach growled).  I am going out of town on Wednesday, so I have refrained from grocery shopping the last couple of days.  I drove over to ET’s to make another delicious salad, which I enjoyed with the boyfriend while he was on his lunch break.

Green salad with grilled chicken, 1/2 avocado, black bean hummus, coconut water  

This was only my second attempt at drinking coconut water.  My first go-around, I couldn’t get used to the taste right away.  Maybe I was having a hard time wrapping my head around what exactly I was drinking, but I actually got nervous before I took my first sip.  However I wanted to find out what all the hype was about!  I understand that it is super-hydrating, packed with potassium and electrolytes, but I have never been a sports-drink-drinker and I am having a hard time believing this is not another marketing trend in consumer America…clearly I have fallen victim to it, but I don’t think I will make this a habit.  There is nothing like a good ole’ glass of water.

I just have to share with you the most amazing snack I had this afternoon.  As I was wondering the grocery store (as I tend to do when I go without a list) a very specific craving came to mind.

Figs on a toasted sandwich thin with almond butter!  Now this isn’t totally random (that would be weird) because I have had this before using dates instead.  The flavor combination of a PB&J is by far one of my favorites (due to my inner-child), so this is along those lines.  I think I had figs on the brain after reading about Brittany’s Protein Pancakes with Figs.  I have a few left over…I might just have to try those out tomorrow!

I have shied away from dried fruit in the past.  I associate them with a lot of sugar, and it wasn’t until recently that I convinced myself (after self-educating) that natural sugars differ from processed, refined sugars.  While they might have a similar effect on one’s blood sugar (causing it to spike at a faster pace than other foods).  Plus, figs and other dried fruits have the nutritional benefits that other sugary foods do not.  Using the fig as an example:

  • Fig fruit is low in calories. 100 g fresh fruits provide only 74 calories. However they contain health benefiting soluble dietary fiber, minerals, vitamins and pigment anti-oxidants that contribute immensely for optimum health and wellness.
  • Dried figs are excellent source of minerals, vitamins and anti-oxidants. In fact dried fruits are concentrated sources of energy
  • In addition, fresh fruits contain adequate levels of some of anti-oxidant vitamins such as vitamin A, E, and K. Altogether these phyto-chemical compounds in fig fruit help scavenge harmful oxygen derived free radicals from the body and thereby protect us from cancers, diabetes, degenerative diseases and infections.
In addition, according to Livestrong, sugar in fruits are natural sources of energy. Fructose that is found in these foods are in small quantities and is fine for you.  Also, in the snack above, I paired it with almond butter (protein) which lessens the effect of sugar on your blood sugar.

For dinner, I was definitely in the mood for fish.  This is where blogs really come in handy, because I found another recipe that catered to my craving.  Adapted from Hillary’s blog, I decided upon a honey-basil-walnut-encrusted salmon recipe

  • 1 tbsp of stone-ground mustard
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • a couple shakes of dried basil spice (I didn’t have fresh)
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/4 c walnuts, chopped

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Finely chop walnuts in food processor.  Coat salmon fillet with honey-basil mixture and walnuts.  Bake for 15-20 minutes.

I served it atop a bed of spinach and a sweet potato.  Yum!  I will definitely cook this again.

Time to watch a movie with my roommate.  Goodnight!

Responses

  1. Ummm your fig/almond butter snack AND salmon dinner look TDF! I definitely want to try the walnut crust. My favorite dried fruit (acutally sort of have a sick obsession) is unsulphured apricots, and I dip them in AB all the time. So delicious!


Leave a Reply

Categories

