Posted by: saramcglothlin | May 29, 2012

Taco Tuesday

This day has flown by!  I had so many appointments and errands to run this afternoon that I didn’t have time to eat again until about 5PM (about 4.5 hours after lunch).  Rarely do I ever go more than 3 hours without eating,either because I am hungry, to keep my blood sugar stable, or I lose concentration like I did today when I left my wallet at the dentist office and didn’t realize it until the grocery store check-out line…

I decided to make myself a smoothie as soon as I walked in the door.  I quickly pulled out all the fixin’s, as well as some baby carrots to tide me over for the 5 minutes it was going to take.  I also had a handful of ET’s Zen Party Mix

Finally my smoothie was ready! (Yes, that deserves an explanation point…I was starving)

Wierd color huh??  In the mix:

  • Mango slices
  • frozen blackberries
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • spinach
  • soy milk
  • 1/2 scoop rice protein powder
  • 1 wheatgrass packet
  • Not Sweet Vanilla Galaxy Granola to top it off
I am glad no one was watching me, because I was literally licking the cup clean on this one.  At first it tasted a little chalky, but I got past that pretty quickly and it turned out to be delicious!
I don’t know much about wheatgrass to be honest…

I have always associated it with uber-healthy people, and I told you that I bought this little guy kind of as a joke.  After I did a little reading, it turns out the green stuff has so many nutritional benefits of which I was aware, as well as disease-fighting and detoxifying properties.  After learning some ways in which it should be consumed, I don’t know if there is a right or wrong way per se, but I think it is mostly consumed in juice form on an empty stomach.  I have a juicer, which I have yet to try out, so maybe I will keep this in mind.

Now getting to the best part of the evening…Taco Tuesday!

What is Taco Tuesday you ask?  No, I don’t eat tacos every Tuesday, but every once in a while we designate the day to give ourselves an excuse to eat tacos.  The boyfriend loves Mexican, and he just so happens to love my fish tacos, so I promised I make them tonight “since I am on vacation with nothing else to do.”  Chyea right…

Homemade Guac

  • 3 ripe avocados
  • juice of one lime
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 plum tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/4 c cilantro
  • dash of cayenne
Mash avocados, lime juice and salt in a medium size bowl.  Fold in tomatoes, onion, garlic, and cilantro.  Mix well.  Add cayenne.  Set aside at room temperature up to one hour before serving.
While making the guac, I enjoyed a Sam Adams Summer Ale…

*Tip for removing avocado pits: carefully wedge knife into pit (it’s a quick hammer-like motion) and twist.  Remove pit with heel of hand.

I set aside one bowl for an appetizer with chips, and one bowl to be used on the fish tacos

Tilapia Fish Tacos

  • Tilapia fillets
  • Old Bay spice
  • whole wheat tortillas
  • refried beans (optional)
  • Homemade Guac
  • salsa

Preheat broiler on high.  Coat tilapia filets with EVOO, salt, pepper, and old bay spice.  Broil for 2 minutes on each side.  Spread whole wheat tortillas with refried beans, guac, tilapia, and salsa and serve.

Happy Taco Tuesday!  Goodnight!

Responses

  1. What brand of rice protein powder did you end up using? Did you tell me? I just ran out of my Spirutein banana and might switch it up!

    • Peaceful Planet Rice Protein Powder. I highly suggest it! Minimal ingredients, 14g protein, 90 calories

      • Awesome! Did it taste chalky or was that the wheatgrass shot?

      • I think it was just the wheatgrass shot

  2. […] on a whole wheat wrap with black bean hummus, guac spread (from last night), spinach, whole grain mustard, green salad with balsamic, watermelon for dessert, […]

  3. […] can’t believe I actually eat/drink this stuff now, but like I said the first time I tried it, it’s so good for you, with many detoxifying […]

  4. […] to make shrimp tacos last night, I was all in.  Coincidence on his part?  Probably not.  Like I’ve said before, he would have tacos every night if he […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

