Posted by: saramcglothlin | May 30, 2012

Road Trip Eats and a Beach Cookie Recipe

This is going to be a quick post because I have to hit the road!

I made some cookies this afternoon to bring with me down to the beach.  I used Bethenny Frankel’s Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe as a healthy base, but ended up adding some ingredients because the batter was too dry to make it my own

  • 3/4 c quinoa flour
  • 3/4 c wheat flour
  • 3/4 c rolled oats
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp canola oil
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 mashed ripe banana
  • 1/3 c soy milk
  • 1/8 c organic unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 c chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl.  In a separate mixing bowl, combine wet ingredients.  Slowly incorporate wet ingredients with dry.  Using a small ice cream scooper (see below) place cookies on baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Bake 12-15 minutes or until edges & bottoms are a golden brown.

Healthy yet delicious!

Unfortunately, there is no internet where I am headed, so I will not be back until Sunday.  I will leave you with my (big) bag of healthy road trip/vacation snacks and the dinner I packed to take with me.  While the boyfriend decided to order a Roasted Pork Hero from a local restaurant, I chose a better alternative.

Turkey on a whole wheat wrap with black bean hummus, guac spread (from last night), spinach, whole grain mustard, green salad with balsamic, watermelon for dessert, Kombucha

I have a 4.5 hour car ride ahead of me…hopefully these snacks will help tide me over!

  • Almonds
  • Galaxy Granola
  • bananas
  • Pure chocolate brownie bar
  • Nut bars
  • Kashi GoLean cereal
  • Barney Almond Butter packets
  • Trail Mix
  • Heart Thrive Date Bars
  • Love Bites

Don’t worry, they are for the rest of the week as well.  Bon Voyage!

Leave a Reply

Categories

