Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 2, 2012

To the Beach and Back

I’m back!  I hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend.  I am definitely in wind-down mode after getting back from the beach just a few hours ago, so my Saturday night is going to entail watching a movie and going to bed early!

The trip was definitely relaxing and fun all at the same time.  I was able to squeeze in an hour of exercise each morning by walking on the beach; I meant to bring my camera the second day to snap some photos but forgot to.  It sure was a great way to start the day.

I would then go back to the house to fix myself a healthy breakfast.  While the rest of the family helped themselves to eggs, bacon, and biscuits, I stuck to my guns and opted for a lighter option.  Plus, I don’t really like eggs and bacon for breakfast…call me crazy.

0% Fage Greek Yogurt with Kashi GoLean cereal, banana, Barney Almond Butter

I did the same for lunch the first day as well.  Everyone else was having burgers and hot dogs, but I prepared myself a turkey sandwich on whole wheat bread.  It’s not that I don’t like a hamburger every now and then, but after laying in the sun all morning, it didn’t sound appetizing to me.  Having red meat during the day was also a turn off.  What would you do in these type situations?  Would you follow the crowd, or make something separate?

The dinners were awesome!  Every day, the boys went crabbing off the dock in the sound (we were not actually on the ocean side) and caught us our appetizers.

Cooked with nothing but Old Bay…delish!

For dinner the first night, we peeled shrimp and paired it with a green salad and corn on the cob.

On the second night, Patrick and I volunteered to cook.  We had bought some scallops the day before and wanted to do something with them.  While I was raving about a bacon-wrapped scallop recipe I read recently, Patrick turned it down and said he wanted something more “healthy.”  How ironic that he would be the one to tell me that!  I was not going to argue with him on that one.  On the menu:

Grilled shrimp and scallop kabobs, brussel sprouts, summer salad

I was in charge of making the summer salad, which everyone loved, so I wanted to share with you the “recipe”

  • Mixed greens/spinach
  • strawberries
  • cucumbers
  • toasted walnuts
  • goat cheese crumbles
  • Oil and vinegar
  • pepper to taste

There was also a lot fo this to go around:

As you can see, I started off alternating between beer and water, but that did not last very long.  If I am to be honest, I did not stick my by 2-3 drink limit, but I just got caught up in the drinking games fun and had to let loose a little…especially when we went to the karaoke bar last night.  Oh well, those nights come around every once in a while.  Live & Learn.

On that note, I am going to leave you with a lesson of the day:  Chugging ranch from the bottle might be considered unhealthy…

This would be frowned upon in the healthy living blogging community I would think.  Everyone have a great Saturday night!

Responses

  1. How fun!

  2. […] a very indulgent couple of days at the beach, I have been trying to get myself back on track.  As soon as I got back in town yesterday, my body […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

