Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 3, 2012

A Birthday Eve Dinner

I feel very fortunate that I have been able to celebrate my birthday over the past week with so many people I love, and it is not even the actual day yet!  While I love attention celebrating my birthday, I swear if I have one more piece of cake I might explode!

First things first, we started off with my sister-in-law’s go-to appetizer: roasted red pepper hummus, crackers, and pretzels.  a bday vodka tonic for me (after that I switched to club soda):

1-2 alcoholic beverages in any given night?  Check!

I only had a handful of crackers because I wanted to save room for the main meal and anticipated birthday cake…

My brother and sister-in-law know how much I love seafood, so they made sure to incorporate fish into tonight’s Sunday Night Dinner.  On the menu:

Grilled Tilefish, with green salad, grilled bell peppers, and rice (which I did not have)

That’s actually the grilled chicken being cooked for my sister-in-law and niece who don’t eat fish, but my brother made me take a picture of the grill since “it was so colorful.”  Guess he has been listening when I tell him to “eat foods of all colors.”

Next up, Birthday cupcakes, which my niece and nephew grabbed before I could take a picture, so I made them put ’em back…greedy hands

My niece and I then ate them like a cupcake-wich.  So good!  I have watched people do this before; I don’t think I will ever eat a cupcake the normal way again.

Last but definitely not least, I got a cookbook from my niece and nephew:

I didn’t get a good chance to really flip through it, but from what I saw (black-bean scallops with zucchini anyone?) the recipes look good, healthy and easy.  Plus I love Asian food, so I’m excited to try some recipes soon.

My brother and sister-in-law gave me a gift card to a new restaurant that I have been dying to try:

My parents are taking me there for lunch tomorrow, but supposedly you have to make dinner reservations a month in advance to get a table.  I’m saving this for a special occasion.  Can’t wait!

Goodnight (26)!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

