Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 3, 2012

There is No Binge in Balance

I hope everyone is having a wonderful Sunday!  I am enjoying my last couple days of vacation and feel very fortunate that I get Monday/my birthday off as well.  However, I won’t be sad going back to work…I kinda miss my routine and always feel very antsy with a lot of spare time on my hands.

After a very indulgent couple of days at the beach, I have been trying to get myself back on track.  As soon as I got back in town yesterday, my body was definitely craving something light, refreshing, detoxifying and green.  I headed straight to ET’s for a juice:

The Green Lemonade: Kale, parsley, cucumber, apple, lemon, ginger

This really hit the spot!  The lemon was a little overpowering, but what did I expect, it being a “lemonade” and all.  I have come to really like juices; I actually have my own juicer, and although I have been tempted to try it out some mornings, the idea of drinking my breakfast always shies me away from doing so.  I need more substance in the mornings.  It was a pretty great snack though so I will have to keep that in mind.

It was not too hot in Richmond yesterday afternoon (75 degrees and partly cloudy), so I immediately went for an hour walk upon my return.  It always feels good to get in some exercise after a 4 hour drive.  It also helped to calm my anxiety after having one too many drinks the night before.  I had told myself last week to limit my alcohol intake on this vacation to 2-3 drinks on any given day, and it wasn’t until I got down to the beach that I failed horribly.  Maybe this was to be expected, but I tend to beat myself up as a result.  Here I am striving for balance and moderation, and while I believe I am getting there, having one too many (4 or more drinks in a sitting is considered binge drinking for women) is not part of the healthy lifestyle I want to live. I just need to remind myself that it is something I need to be conscious of, and if that means limiting myself to 1-2 in a night, that is what I will need to do to find my happy medium.

Do you drink alcohol?  If so, do you limit your intake, or is it not a big part of your social life?

After unpacking, I cut up some cucumber as a pre-dinner snack.  I was definitely in “cleanse” mode.

My dinner was a little random but just what I wanted

0% Fage yogurt with Kashi GoLean cereal, banana, blueberries, almond butter blob. cinnamon, butternut squash puree

I swear I can’t go a day without some kind of breakfast concoction!  Since I didn’t really get to have breakfast (we went straight to lunch) I made it for dinner.

This morning, I was craving a run.  It was 57 degrees and sunny so the weather was perfect for it.  I ended up running 2.5 miles and walking the remaining 2.5 miles.  I could tell my knees were bothering me a little, and sometimes I enjoy walking as it allows me to just take in the morning.

I was debating between a green smoothie and oatbran for breakfast.  In the end, the oats always wins (i.e. I don’t like to drink my breakfast).

In the mix:

  • 1/3 c oatbran
  • 1/2 cup soy milk
  • 1/2 c water
  • 1/2 mashed banana mixed in with the other 1/2 sliced on top
  • cinnamon
  • egg white
  • blueberries
  • almond butter blob

Never fails!

Responses

  1. I don’t drink (partly because I’m not of age yet) but it’s such a social part of life, especially when on vacation! So I think it’s okay that you indulged. It’s not like you do it everyday…I hope 😉

    • Thanks Haley! That made me feel better…and no I do not do it every day!

  2. the green lemonade at whole foods is my fave!! im sure they are about the same. i wish i had a juicer 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

