Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 3, 2012

Use What You Have

Tomorrow I am moving into a family friend’s house to house sit/dog sit for the month of June, so I tried to use what I had on hand for lunch and  new quinoa recipe I whipped up.

Lunch was pretty simple:

Whole wheat wrap with black bean hummus, turkey, mixed greens, sliced tomato, mustard, cuke slices

This got messy pretty quickly-as you can see the wrap was falling apart…good thing no one was watching me eat!

I knew this week was going to be hectic with my birthday tomorrow (stay tuned for new restaurant reviews!), getting back to work Tuesday, starting my photography class Tuesday night, and house sitting.  I wanted to make a big batch of quinoa for a quick dinners on-the-run.  I got the inspiration from Lauren’s quinoa salad recipe but made it my own by using what I had in my kitchen:

Spinach-Apple-Walnut Quinoa Salad

  • 1 c uncooked quinoa
  • 2 c stock or water
  • 1 tbsp EVOO
  • 1/2 c onion, chopped
  • sautéed spinach
  • 1 medium apple, chopped
  • 1/3 c walnuts
  • dressing with balsamic, mustard, honey (I didn’t measure but it seemed to be 2 tbsp balsamic, 1 tbsp of mustard & honey)

Bring quinoa and stock (water) to a boil.  Lower to simmer until cooked.  In the mean time, heat EVOO over medium high heat.  Sautee onion until translucent.  Throw in spinach until wilted (about 2 minutes).  Chop apple and walnuts.  Fold onion, spinach, apple, and walnuts into cooked quinoa.  Pour dressing over quinoa and mix well.

I didn’t try it right away; this recipe seems like it would be best after being in the fridge for a day or so.

I’m headed to my brother’s for a special Sunday Night Dinner Birthday Celebration!  Have a good night!

Responses

  1. That quinoa salad sounds amazing! Must make asap 😀

  2. […] mixed the veggie burger in with the quinoa salad I made the other day, and topped it off with a fried egg.  On the side I had a bowl of Amy’s […]

  3. […] veggies from the salad bar (not pictured) and some sweet & sour tempeh that I mixed in with my quinoa salad that I made a couple of days […]

  4. […] salad with grilled chicken, left-over Spinach-Apple-Walnut quinoa salad, Kombucha, remaining half of my Peel’s Rosemary-Lemon-Buckwheat […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

