Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 4, 2012

The Big Two-Seven

The summer after I graduated from college (I had just turned 23) my best friend/current roommate was living in D.C. at the time. I went up to visit her, and as we were walking down M Street, a sign for Psychic stood in our path.  Feeling impulsive, we decided to give it a shot.  Now, I don’t (fully) believe in psychics, or mediums, or fortune tellers, or anything of the sort, but it was actually quite fun.  I don’t remember much of what she said, but one thing that does stand in my mind (and have remembered ever since) was that I would be engaged/married by the time I was 27.  I had been perpetually single for about 3 years, and continued to be so until about 3 months ago, so her words of wisdom were a little hard to believe.  And still are!  Let’s just say I won’t be holding my breath, but I did wake up to some amazing birthday gifts from Patrick this morning:

He knows me so well!  My kitchen feels complete…I have already been browsing the internet for some recipes, but didn’t have enough time to really search.  Be prepared to see some meals soon.

Workout

Patrick had to go to work this morning, so we made plans to get a run in first thing; however, I was tossing and turning all night so I allowed myself to stay in bed until I was ready to get up at 7:30 AM.  Since I wanted to go to barre class a couple of hours later, I squeezed in a short 2 mile run to start my day with some cardio.  My second barre class was awesome by the way!  It was different from the first; a friend of mine said the instructor mixes it up on a daily basis so your body never gets used to it.  I like the sound of that.  It was just as challenging, if not more so.

After my run, I thought about making myself a protein pancake, but was craving something cool:

0% Fage yogurt with 1/2 c Kashi GoLean cereal, 1/4 c Galaxy Granola, blueberries, banana, almond butter blob, cinnamon

I have to go get ready for lunch with my parents.  We are going to Stella’s and I am super excited!  I definitely could go for some hummus right about now.  Hope everyone is having a happy Monday!

Responses

  1. Best. Gifts. Ever!

  2. Those gifts really are awesome. I haven’t met him yet but I like him already!

  3. […] Cook with my new crock pot […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

