Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 6, 2012

Back to the Grind & a Veggie Burger Taste Test

I didn’t get to post yesterday because my schedule was filled to the brim.  I started a 6 week photography class at the VMFA which runs from 7-10 PM every Tuesday.  I can’t wait to share with you all that I learn as the summer goes on!  But first…

Meet my new morning walking partner, Minty!

Camera shy…

Just. Want. To. Walk.

No she’s not mine.  Patrick and I are house/dog sitting for the next 3.5 weeks, so now I have a 5AM workout buddy!  Since I bought an unlimited month-worth of barre classes yesterday, I am going to try and do that most evenings, and take a hiatus from hardcore cardio.  Early morning walks in the summer are the best anyway, and when I’m with Minty, I walk faster than my normal pace.

As for breakfast and lunch?  It’s back to the grind…and tupperware.  Boring.  I didn’t even want to post the pictures because if you’ve seen it once, you’ve seen ’em all…but here ya go:

OO with oatbran, banana, blueberries, soy milk, chia seeds, cinnamon, almond butter blob

Green salad with grilled chicken, edamame, 1/2 avocado, balsamic, apple

Dinner was (thankfully) different.  I wanted to stick with something vegetarian tonight, so I picked up this at the grocery store

I had been a loyal fan of Morning Star Veggie Burgers for the longest time.  However Dr. Praeger’s kept popping up around the blog world, so I decided to give them a chance.  Additionally, the difference in ingredients is noticeable, and in my opinion, minimal is best.  See for your self:

Vs.

Ingredients:

VEGETABLES (MUSHROOMS, WATER CHESTNUTS, ONIONS, CARROTS, GREEN BELL PEPPERS, RED BELL PEPPERS, BLACK OLIVES), TEXTURED VEGETABLE PROTEIN (SOY PROTEIN CONCENTRATE, WHEAT GLUTEN, WATER FOR HYDRATION), EGG WHITES, COOKED BROWN RICE (WATER, BROWN RICE), ROLLED OATS, CORN OIL, CALCIUM CASEINATE, SOY SAUCE (WATER, SOYBEANS, SALT, WHEAT), CONTAINS TWO PERCENT OR LESS OF ONION POWDER, CORNSTARCH, SALT, HYDROLYZED VEGETABLE PROTEIN (CORN, SOY AND WHEAT), AUTOLYZED YEAST EXTRACT, NATURAL FLAVORS FROM NON-MEAT SOURCES, SUGAR, SOY PROTEIN ISOLATE, SPICES, GARLIC POWDER, DEXTROSE, JALAPEÑO PEPPER POWDER, CELERY EXTRACT.

I mixed the veggie burger in with the quinoa salad I made the other day, and topped it off with a fried egg.  On the side I had a bowl of Amy’s Chunky Vegetable Soup

I don’t like eggs in the morning, but I do turn to them for a dinner protein more often these days.

I’ve got to get ready for work…I hope everyone has a great day!

P.S. more on photography coming up.  My instructor knows I want to learn more about food photography, so for those who want to take more delicious pictures, stay tuned!

 

Responses

  1. I’ve seen those burgers before and they have always caught my attention! Sound good 🙂

    • I highly suggest them, although the texture is a little soft for me, but I think the ingredient differential trumps texture!

  2. […] woke up at 5AM to go on a walk with Minty.  Half-way through I tested her to see if she would run with me, and she did!  Good to […]

  3. DR PRAEGERS are the bomb diggity. my absolute favorite!! i just wish HT would carry them in CH

  4. […] got in at a decent hour, so I had a good portion of the afternoon to unwind from the trip.  I took Minty on a walk, after which I unpacked and ate […]

  5. […] you’ve heard, my house sitting stint for the past month entailed morning walks with Minty, and the occasional barre class in the evenings.  Notice something here?  There is no […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

