Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 6, 2012

WIAW and a Restaurant Review (part 2)

After reading Jenn’s WIAW post today, it was like she read my mind.  While I was at work, going through the same old routine, eating the same foods and snacks, I thought to myself that I really need to mix things up.  Dinner aside, I have put convenience over creativity.  This tends to happen as life gets in the way and there is just no time to think about what to pack for lunch.  Yea, that is one of the first aspects of my life that takes the back burner.  I have gotten in the habit of throwing lunch planning out the window, and making five salad-bar-salads at the grocery store each Sunday.  As the week goes on, I will throw some different toppings to switch up the flavor (like here and here), but in general, it all tastes the same.  The same goes for my snacks as well.  My Go-To’s:

  • Fage yogurt + carrot sticks
  • Apple and Light Babybel cheese round
  • 2% Cottage cheese + handful nuts
  • cup of Kashi GoLean cereal
  • Larabar
  • Green smoothie

Although I know these are healthy snacks, and will definitely remain staples for me, I even did research to see if anything would trigger my taste buds.  I came across this article from Fitsugar, which focuses on good snacks for work; however it just so happens that I eat everything already on the list!  At least I am doing something right, but I needed more ideas.  These snacks looked AH-mazing, but not many were office-friendly.  Then I found Whole Living ‘s article, “The Best Snacks to Take to Work.”  Um hello? Where has this been all my life??  The solution to my problem (and maybe yours too) lies right in that link.  I wish I could have come up with some awesome ideas on my own, but if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it (@internet).  Some gems to look for:

  • Sweet Potato Hummus
  • Beet Chips
  • Avocado with salt, pepper, and lime
  • Ricotta, herbs and cucumber
  • Egg plant spread
  • Split Pea Crisps
  • Chocolate Apricot Nut Bars

I’ve also been meaning to get some Turkey Jerky from Trader Joe’s and make hard-boiled eggs to pack with me, but of course I have forgotten to do so.  Note to self.

On to today…

Workout

I woke up at 5AM to go on a walk with Minty.  Half-way through I tested her to see if she would run with me, and she did!  Good to know.

Breakfast was the same OO concoction as yesterday, so I am going to skip right to lunch.

Greens with grilled chicken, chick peas, apple slices, avocado, Amy’s Chunky Vegetable Soup.

Random combination, I know, but it was delicious, and sometimes a “shmorgasboard” of a salad is the best!

Dinner was a real treat tonight.  Patrick’s parents took us to Mediterraneo for birthday celebration #5 (I swear I didn’t ask for this!).  I don’t usually prefer Italian, but the menu featured a wide array of salads, pastas, and specialty pizzas.  I was pleased!

We grabbed a drink at the house before the restaurant

I then had 2 glasses of red wine with dinner…

 

…and the best “house salad” I have ever had.  I have always dreaded having to order a house salad; ice berg lettuce, cucumbers, and tomatoes never do it for me, but this was different and delicious!

 

House salad with roasted red peppers, strawberries, and walnuts; Housemade bread with Olive Oil dipping sauce; 

For my entrée, I ordered the specialty salmon dish, squash, potatoes, strawberry relish

As you can see, the portion was huge.  I saved half to take home, which I will likely have for dinner tomorrow night.

That should hopefully end the birthday celebration…until New York this weekend…fwew

 

Responses

  1. Ooh I haven’t tried that Larabar yet but I loveeee coconuts!


Leave a Reply

Categories

