Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 13, 2012

Jumping on the Bandwagon

Very impulsively that is!  Amazon daily deals have started popping up in my in-box, and look what I bought today:

Intimidated doesn’t start to describe the way I feel about CrossFit.  I forgot where I first heard about it, but it has gone viral across the healthy living blogging community.  My good friend Kate has been doing it for a year (unbeknownst to me until about 5 months ago), and there are a handful of my co-workers that also partake.  It was time I bit the bullet; I couldn’t think of a better time than seeing “BUY NOW” in an email.  It was basically calling my name.  Luckily I convinced my friend Kate (a different one) to sign up with me.  We both can’t wait to go!

And how could I forget WIAW??

The week has gone by so fast, I almost forgot what day of the week it was until I started reading some blogs.  My meals are nothing exciting, until dinner that is, as usual:

Breakfast

After taking Minty on an hour walk this morning, I got ready for work and grabbed my OO out of the fridge.

1/3 c oat bran, 1/2 c soy milk, 1/2 mashed banana, 1 T chia seeds, cinnamon, blueberries, almond butter blob, 1/2 banana sliced

Lovely keyboard as a backdrop, isn’t it?  I am sorry to say that excluding weekends, this is likely to be my breakfast for the rest of June (while house sitting).  The location is further from work than my apartment, and this is quick and easy, whereas I don’t have to “time” anything.  I will tell you however, that these have been the thickest OO I have ever had.  So if that sounds like your style, use the ratio above!

Lunch

Green salad with grilled chicken, cukes, peppers, sun-dried tomatoes, 1/2 avocado, O&V drizzle (I was getting sick of plain old balsamic)

As for snacks, I almost always need 2 post-lunch to tide me over until dinner, so when I got hungry again a couple of hours later, I reached for this and all of it’s golden goodness:

Yep, 4 hours full.  Magic.  If you haven’t already seen it, check out Laura Lea’s blog, she’s doing a give-away for a box of these!

After getting off work later than usual, and checking a doctor’s appointment off my agenda, I was pretty hungry, and way too tired to cook.  I headed over to ET’s to hit up the hot bar:

Sweet & Sour Tempeh in quinoa with a side of raw veggies

Can you tell I have been practicing my photography??  My class last night focused on the element of Aperture.  Here are some examples.  In case you don’t know, it pertains to the depth of field of your image (i.e. how far back in the image objects stay in focus).

Lowest aperture means that you don’t have much depth of field.  Those objects close to you will stay in focus, while objects in the background are likely to be blurred:

Medium aperture means the depth of field has increased, although objects in the background are still going to be blurry (more or less):

The highest aperture refers to the longest depth of field.  See in the picture below how the water-way is more focused, with the 2 objects in the foreground remaining in focus:

See how that works?  Pretty cool, huh?

Here is another quick example…

So after a long days work, with the weather just right, I sometimes crave an ice-cold beer when I get home.  I popped open a Vienna Lager.  Born and raised in Virginia, it was brewed at Devil’s Backbone, a brewery just 2 hours west of here that Patrick and I stopped by on a recent camping trip (pre-blog).  It too, just like CrossFit, was calling my name.  I decided to use this opportunity to practice my “depth of field…”

I spy with my little eye…

An English flag!  The family for which I am house sitting is from England, hence the month-long hiatus from Richmond, VA.

So you see?  And keep in mind I am still very much a beginner, but can’t wait to share more of what I learn.

And how badly do you want a beer right now??

Off to read my book, goodnight!

Responses

  1. That lager sounds fabulous right now. I can definitely tell a difference in your pictures–you must teach me at some point! I use my iphone because it’s discreet, but also because I don’t know how to use my camera :). Glad to hear you’re settled back nicely in RIC!

  2. […] Tough right?  Please say yes so I don’t feel like a wimp…CrossFit here I come… […]

  3. […] Same old.  Sorry folks…hour walk with Minty this morning, OO with banana and blueberries (I’ll spare you the picture). […]

  4. […] also have 60 days to use up the 12 CrossFit classes I bought on Amazon Daily Deals.  This actually might not happen (unless I squeeze them all into […]

  5. […] this month has kept me going on my fitness goals (not to mention a Barre Star Challenge and a CrossFit Groupon hasn’t hurt either).  It is safe to say that my day with filled with all three of Fun, Food, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

