Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 15, 2012

Honey, It’s Date Night

Happy Friday (finally) everybody!  I hope everyone has a good weekend planned, whether your agenda is full of fun, or you are taking it easy.  I know I will be doing the latter.

Smoothies are a health bloggers best friend right?  That is why I was happy to see that Patrick had saved this section of the Richmond paper for me to look over

It was very thoughtful of him.  But then again, I think there was some alterior motive mixed in when he told me that smoothies were one of his favorite desserts.  That’s a big difference between us; dessert for me is spelled c-h-o-c-o-l-a-t-e.  Whatever floats your boat though.  Anywho, I think he was trying to tell me something, but I have noo problem making smoothies (dessert, meal, whatever).  Especially green monsters!  I can’t have smoothies anymore without kale, spinach, or some other green.  It adds so much and makes it that much more filling.  The concept of the green monster surprised him however.  We will see what he’s calling dessert after I’m through with him.

My smoothie go-to:

  • frozen banana
  • some kind of fresh fruit (usually bluberries, but I also use apple, pineapple, mango, strawberries, etc.)
  • 3/4 c soy milk
  • 1 scoop protein powder (optional)
  • 2 c of spinach/kale
  • (sometimes chia seeds)

What is your favorite smoothie recipe/combination?


I woke up this morning bright and early as usual (I can’t wait to sleep in tomorrow!) and took Minty on an hour walk.  Breakfast was OO once again; I did mix up lunch though.  Well, a little bit…

Green salad with grilled chicken, chick peas, 1/2 avocado, trail mix, O&V 

I had no idea what to add to my salad this morning, so I impulsively threw a handful of trail mix on top.  Although it didn’t pack a whole lot of flavor, I did like the avocado, raisin, peanut trio.  I will probably “make” this again.

I actually packed a gym bag to take to work today because I have been craving some hardcore cardio.  I love my morning walks, and on most days, that is enough exercise for me recently, but I felt the need to sweat. After I checked out today’s fitness classes online, I knew I would be headed to BodyStep right after work.  Therefore, a few hours after lunch, I refueled with a no-fail snack:

Barney Almond Butter on 1/2 whole wheat sandwich thin; dark chocolate

BodyStep kicked my butt today.  I didn’t feel out of shape, but the instructor had us move our bodies in ways I haven’t had to move in a while.  Plus, the workout is very high impact, so I can’t go that often because it tends to hurt my knees and balls of my feet after a couple of times.  She had us doing “burpees” on the stepper; 2 sets of 20 throughout a track.  It was hard, but I could feel my abs working, and I perseveered!  If you don’t know what a burpee is, it’s when you do the following motion (you have your hands on the stepper) and to get from point A to point B, you are jumping back with your feet (image 2)

Tough right?  Please say yes so I don’t feel like a wimp…CrossFit here I come…

After this workout, I was craving something cool and fruity.  I was too lazy to go hit up the smoothie bar at ET’s (and I was also in the mood to actually eat food, not drink it) so I made a better alternative:

Frozen strawberries and rasberries, fresh bluberries, 0% fage yogurt, drizzle of honey

Again, working on my photography.  For next week’s assignment, we were asked to photograph “light” (can you tell).  I was just playing with the camera here, but I dunno, not too shabby if I do say so myself.

Fun Fact:  Did you know honey is the only food that never spoils??  Good to know.

I’m off to get ready for dinner.  Patrick and I have a date night planned at Stella’s.  I recently went there for lunch with my parents on my birthday, so I am so excited to go there for dinner.  Plus, it’s on my brother:

Thanks Rob!

Responses

  1. […]  It was definitely my goal to ”sleep in” and let my body wake up naturally, but Date Night last night kinda got the best of me!  We had a delicious, yet indulgent meal at Stella’s, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

