Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 16, 2012

Dude, Where’s My Appetite?

Hey everybody!  I hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend so far.  By the looks of it, this weekend is going to go too quickly, I can tell.

I had some heavy stuff on my mind today, so my appetite was all out of whack (meaning I didn’t really have one, which is uncharacteristic of me).  Don’t worry, I made sure to feed myself, but today’s eats were less frequent than those of a typical day.

I woke up later than usual this morning (aka 8AM), and unfortunately, it was to an alarm.  It was definitely my goal to “sleep in” and let my body wake up naturally, but Date Night last night kinda got the best of me!  We had a delicious, yet indulgent meal at Stella’s, with the wine a’flowin.  Gosh I love wine, but I have become such a light weight these days…or maybe it’s getting older?  Anywho, I have a plan (i.e. personal challenge) to cut back.  TBB (“To be blogged”).

Quick recap from Stella’s before moving on:

Our reservations were not until 8:30 PM, so when Patrick got home from work a little before 8:00, we enjoyed a glass of wine on our porch before heading to the restaurant.

Once there, we both ordered drinks.  Stella Artois for him, Sauvingon Blanc for me

Just a warning-the rest of the pictures are going to be kind of dark.  The flash went off when I took the picture above and since the tables are really close together, I didn’t want to bother those around me…

Of course we ordered some apps to start.  Along those lines, I have a confession to make.  Before going to a new restaurant, I almost always look at the menu online beforehand (the foodie in me).  After reading over Stella’s menu however, I couldn’t understand anything on it!  I mean, it was straight up Greek (hummus, calamari, and shrimp were basically the only words I could read).  So I spent some time Google “imaging” a bunch of their dishes.  Work was a little slow yesterday…

Patrick immediately ordered the fried calamari, of which I had a few bites.  It might have been the best calamari I have ever had.  Bold statement, I know, but for right now it stands.

I ordered the Grilled Haloumi.  Grilled goat cheese?  Yes, please!

Cypriot mild goat cheese, grilled with tsiporo, white grapes & pine nuts

For my entree, I got the Shrimp Santorini

Shrimp sauteed over plaki & baked with feta, daily side

This dish was so delicious and falvoriful, and very filling and heavy.  I honestly think I was still full from dinner until noon today!

Afterwards, Patrick and I rolled ourselves out of the restaurant and headed to his brother’s house for a night cap

Loved this wine glass, btw.  By this time, it was time to put myself to bed.  The rest of the crew went to bars until the wee hours, but I try and stay away from that scene, so I went home instead (insert pat on back here).

Now you have some idea of why it was hard for me to get out of bed this morning!  It was funny, because as I was sitting in barre class before it started (I made myself go because i knew it would make me feel better, and I was right), this older woman sitting next to me (probably in her 40s) was saying how she had gone to a happy hour yesterday with every intention of having one drink and going home, but ended up staying out until well past 11PM.  I just wanted to say “right there with ya.”  Happens to the best of us I guess!

It was a beautiful day outside, so I took Minty on a nice, long walk.  An ET’s juice was calling my name, so I hopped in my car to get one.  I finished that thing in the 4 minute drive back.  I tried a new flavor-The Cleansing Tonic-and it hit the spot!

Carrot, apple, celery, beet, wheatgrass

I can’t believe I actually eat/drink this stuff now, but like I said the first time I tried it, it’s so good for you, with many detoxifying properties.

I spent the rest of the afternoon taking pictures for my photography class next week.  My assignment: “What is Richmond, establishing a sense of place through photography.”

Richmond is unique in that there is a mix of new and old, especially in its architecture.  We also have awesome parks, monuments, neighborhoods, community gardens, art work, etc. all around the city.  Although I am going to continue to work on the assignment tomorrow, here are some of the images I am thinking about.  I would love to know what you think!

Community garden located in The Fan District

I like this one because I think the chairs provide a nice contrast to the greenery all around.  I also like how you can see the light spread over all the vegetables.  I will probably try and crop it down so the houses in the background aren’t as apparent, but I will need to think about it.

Here’s one more:

There is this random mirror (kind of like an oversized bicycle mirror) hanging on a wall on Grove Ave., a major road in my neighborhood.  I noticed it as I was walking the other day.  I think it is a neat twist on just a regular image of the avenue.  It wasn’t until I took it that I realized that since it was a mirror, I would be in it!  Duh.  Oh well, it adds something to it, perhaps.

I did a lot of walking around today, and it felt good to be outside.  I made lunch pretty late in the afternoon, and just used what I already had in my kitchen

Dr. Praeger’s veggie burger on a whole wheat sandwich thin, fried egg; frozen fruit topped with greek yogurt and honey

Oh yea.  I am not going to get sick of this combination any time soon.

I started to think about dinner around 7PM, and my mind kept reverting to a baked sweet potato.  I really wanted one, but did not want to wait an hour for it to cook!  But, stomach trumps impatience, and I held myself over with an apple while it was in the oven.

Kale & spinach salad with spiced shrimp (from ET’s) left-over roasted brussel sprouts, 1/2 avocado, sliced Anjou pear, cukes, goat cheese; baked sweet potato

Um, yum is all I have to say.  And goodnight-I’m exhausted!  Have a good Saturday night friends!

Responses

  1. You can always cook a sweet potato in the microwave! It will usually cook in between 5-10 minutes! I get impatient when I’m hungry too 🙂

  2. […] spent most of today working on my assignment for photography class.  Minty and I drove around Richmond looking for sights to shoot.  Ever […]

  3. haha that’s what I was going to add! Gaahhhh Wes! But yes, and I think all three of us suffer from HANGER problems.


Leave a Reply

Categories

