Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 17, 2012

A Brand New Day

Where did the weekend go?? I knew it was going to fly by.  I did wake up this morning with a fresh new outlook on some things; yesterday was a bad day, and I wasn’t sad to see it go.  After much self-reflection, I realized there are some aspects of myself I want to change.  While I don’t care to go into the details right now, I have set some goals to help me on my way:

  • Take care of myself: it is important to make you a priority.  A lot of the time as humans, we forget to do this.  Whether it is taking care of a family, trying to please those around you, putting your job first, etc., we forget about the most important relationship of all-the one with yourself.  Physically, I think I do a good job with this; I exercise, eat right, don’t smoke…I may have two too many glasses of wine from time to time (workin’ on it), but otherwise, I treat my body right.  Emotionally, I’m a perfectionist; I tend to “beat myself up” when things don’t go as planned.  First and foremost, I must put an end to the self-bashing
  • Surround myself with the good: Like many, I have had some hardships in my life; there has been heartbreak (more than 1 I assure you), periods of low self-esteem, and lots of distrust in others.  However, I am so fortunate to have those people in my life who care about me, support me, and who I can trust.  I don’t know about you, but I try to see the good in people.  Sometimes, it turns out you’re right, other times not so much.  Surround yourself with those people who you know you can count on.
  • Balance & Moderation: Ah, and here we have it.  The ever-constant.  Ever since starting this blog, I have realized that getting to this “place” of balance and happiness will not happen over night.  Keeep truckin’!
What are some ways you take care of yourself?

OK, enough with the heavy stuff.  I did make sure to take care of myself today.  I woke up (naturally-no alarm) and took Minty on a hour-long walk.  It was 60 degrees outside and sunny and just right.  While I headed home, I started to think what to make for breakfast (as always), and knew that I wanted something cool and fruity.  I came up with the idea to make a banana-blueberry protein pancake, chop it up, and put it in some greek yogurt, but when my pancake turned out perfectly, I couldn’t make myself cut it up!

Look at that flip!  Compared to the first time I made one, this was a huge improvement!

In the mix:

  • 2 egg whites
  • 2 T soy milk
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • cinnamon
  • blueberries

I topped it with with 1/2 of a container of 0% Fage greek yogurt, almond butter, and the rest of the banana

Can you tell I save the best (i.e. almond butter blob) for last??

I spent most of today working on my assignment for photography class.  Minty and I drove around Richmond looking for sights to shoot.  Ever since getting the assignment, I knew I wanted to photograph the Libby Hill Park stairs.  This park is located in Church Hill, a neighborhood in Richmond right outside of downtown that I don’t go to too often, but have driven by a couple of times.  I have seen runners running up and down these stairs, and it is somethign I wanted to try for a workout.  So I decided to kill two birds with one stone…

Who am I kidding, I definitely only killed one bird.  I started to run and lasted one time.  One time!  I thought I was in better shape than that!  This was tough.  I jogged up one more time to count how many steps there were, maybe if I could put a number on it, I wouldn’t feel so bad about myself.  The grand total: 106 steps.  I don’t really know, is that a lot? It sure felt like it!

View from the top (the right “twin tower” is my office building!):

I took a quick trip to the grocery store to pick up some lunch and also some items for the week.  I thought about making a salad at the salad bar (for about 3 seconds), but all I wanted was a turkey sandwich, and I’m glad I listened to my body, because this sandwich was darn good…

Turkey on whole wheat bread with mustard, 1/2 avocado, arugula, sliced tomato; apple slices with greek yogurt for dipping

Arugula used to be too bitter for me, but now I love it.

Are there any foods you used to hate, but have since grown to love?

I’m off to barre class and then to Patrick’s grandfather’s birthday dinner.  Have a good rest of your Sunday!

Responses

  1. Ohhh that meal looks RIGHT up my alley! I adore arugula on just about everything. This is a great post, Sara. You absolutely do deserve and need to make yourself a priority, as does every women. And person–but I think women really struggle with this. We can’t expect to ever help others if we can’t help ourselves anyway!

  2. […] goes back to what I said in an earlier post about taking care of yourself.  I used to feel obligated to “yes” to everything, always trying to please.  But I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

