Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 18, 2012

“Food is Fuel”…Except When You Want a Cookie

Back when I was in college, I was so confused about what I should be eating.  My sophomore year was the worst; I feel like almost everything I ate contained something artificial.  If I can remember correctly, a typical day went like this:

Breakfast

  • 1 pack (or 2 if I felt like 1 one wasn’t enough) of Quaker “Weight Control” Banana Bread Oatmeal
  • Ingredients:

WHOLE GRAIN ROLLED OATS, WHEY PROTEIN ISOLATE, MALTODEXTRIN, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, SALT, OAT FLOUR, CALCIUM CARBONATE, GUAR GUM, CARAMEL COLOR, SOY LECITHIN, ACESULFAME POTASSIUM, SUCRALOSE, NIACINAMIDE*, REDUCED IRON, VITAMIN A PALMITATE, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE*, RIBOFLAVIN*, THIAMIN MONONITRATE*, FOLIC ACID*.
*ONE OF THE B VITAMINS

Lunch

  • a container of supermarket “sushi.”

  • Ingredients: couldn’t tell ya (nor could I find it on the internet, sorry).  I just remember when I actually looked down and read them, all I saw was acid-this, and sugar-that.  I was horrified!  And all this time I thought I was being “healthy” (i.e. calorie conscious).

Dinner

  • I can remember having cereal and yogurt most nights.  But before you say “wait that’s healthy,” I will show you exactly what I’m talking about:

The cereal:

The ingredients:

Whole grain wheat, raisins, wheat bran, sugar, brown sugar syrup, contains 2% or less of salt, malt flavor.

Vitamins and minerals: Niacinamide, reduced iron, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), zinc oxide, vitamin B2 (riboflavin), vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride), vitamin A palmitate, folic acid, vitamin D, vitamin B12.

…Not so bad, but sugar is a primary ingredient

The Yogurt:

The ingredients:

LF_Cup Vanilla

Again, not the most natural ingredients there are…

Now, I am not a nutritionist, and I am also not saying that any of these foods are bad for you.  I love me a bowl of sugary cereal from time to time, but I was consuming this stuff every day (and I wondered why I was bloated and puffy and couldn’t lose weight??).  I also could feel my blood sugar crash; scratch that…take a nose dive.

I recently got an email from a reader asking a lot of good questions about how I structure my eating, how I decide to eat what on any given day, what we should be eating, etc.  I broached this topic in one of my first posts (read it here), about the mixed messages in the media pertaining to what kinds of food, and how much of it, we should be putting into our bodies.  I used to over think this myself, which just caused unnecessary anxiety.

It wasn’t until a few years back that I received the best advice about food I have ever gotten.  It came from my brother, one of the smartest men I know (yes, Dad, I said one of), who also happens to be a psychiatrist.  He said, “Food is Fuel.  Period.”   It is that simple.  It changed the way I though about food forever.  Once I started to look at labels and incorporate more natural, real foods into my diet, I noticed a complete change in my energy levels and satiety.

If you have been reading my blog for the past few weeks, you will see that I do my best to “keep it real.”  That doesn’t mean I refuse potato chips, but my body has come to crave the good stuff instead.  Most of time, I would rather eat an apple anyway.  Most of the time…

OK, take from that what you will.  On to today!

Workout/Breakfast

Same old.  Sorry folks…hour walk with Minty this morning, OO with banana and blueberries (I’ll spare you the picture).

Lunch

Green salad with red cabbage, grilled chicken, pesto, goat cheese, roasted pine nuts, balsamic drizzle

I loove pesto!  Awesome combo

Dinner

Honey Dijon Salmon, atop a bed  of parsnip-carrot slaw, quinoa, and arugula

I cheated a little.  The salmon and slaw are from ET’s; but the arugula and quinoa, I put on the plate made myself!

Afterwards, I had quite the sweet tooth, so I treated myself to a cookie.  OK, it was a healthy cookie, but it was still delicious!

Heart Thrive Chocolate Chip “cookie” with almond butter

If I had had a homemade chocolate chip cookie on hand, you just bet I would have eaten that instead.

Snacks

  • container of 0% fage yogurt with baby carrot sticks (still on my carrot stick kick)
  • 1 c of Kashi GoLean cereal
  • Peanut Butter Dark Chocolate + Protein KIND Bar.

This was the first time I tried this flavor and I really liked it!  I think I got this flavor because I am seriously missing the peanut butter chocolate Grab the Gold bars that Laura Lea gave me last week.  It doesn’t compare, but it did the trick, and kept me full, which is always a plus.

I thought it would be fun to end this post with something that made me smile today.  Mostly because it is a Monday and I am trying to look at the glass half full, and it is something I haven’t done explicitly since starting this blog (which seems to be counter intuitive).

1.  The boyfriend stole my car today…and cleaned it!  Washed, vacuumed, good. as. new.

I hadn’t washed it since I got it…almost 4 years ago.  Ew, I can’t believe I just said that out loud.

And, for all those glass half empty folks, who might have had a bad day, here is something that did NOT make me smile.  Well, because we are all human and can’t be in a good mood all the time…

Coming home from work, realizing you left your newly opened container of soy milk sitting on the kitchen counter (12 hours ago) and having to pour it all down the drain…then having to drive to the grocery store to pick up a new one when you are starving for dinner.

Nope.  Not smiling then.

What made you smile today?  Or if nothing, what made it feel like a Monday? (Remember tomorrow is another day!)

Responses

  1. When I think back to how I used to eat in college, I shudder, lol. but, you’re right… life still needs cookies 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

