Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 23, 2012

Saturday Suprises and a Food Festival

So I did everything I said I was going to do today except get a pedicure.  I thought I was going to have some time to kill this afternoon, but shopping with my mom for upcoming wedding presents took longer than expected.  I got what I was looking for though!

My mom came bearing some gifts today.  I love it when that happens.  Most girls love to get clothes, I love food and magazines

Pretzel crisps (which I have said before are my favorite), baked Lentil chips (yum), roasted red pepper and basil hummus (homemade!), and Kashi cereal.  Why the cereal?  Someone has been reading my blog and tried to start eating breakfast (because you should), but she’s still not a breakfast person so she gave me the rest of the box.  Sometimes I wonder how we’re related…

She also brought be some gardenias from her garden

We headed over to Mosaic for lunch.  The last time I ate there, they had changed the menu (for the better) and I got the same thing today:

Spinach salad with two mini black-bean burger patties with edamame hummus, tomatoes, and a cucumber-yogurt sauce

SO good!

After my friend Joanna got off work, we went and checked out Richmond’s Vegetarian Food Festival.  It was bumpin’!  I had no idea it drew such a crowd.  In fact, I had no idea it existed until now.  Shame on me because it was a great event with every kind of food tents you can imagine, live music, and cooking demonstrations

Our first stop was couscous, a restaurant near my apartment that I have been wanting to try.  I have walked past it a thousand times, but haven’t gotten a chance.  After this sampling however, I will be sure to make it a meal!

Vegan lentil ball with apricot curry sauce.

This was delicious!  I devoured it.  Our next stop was another tent with Indian food…I forgot the name…I wasn’t really looking at the sign because my eye was drawing me to this:

Pretty ain’t it?  Again, I don’t really know what it is.  I want to say it was some kind of potato cake but the texture of it was similar to gritz.  That being said, I didn’t really like it.  It was topped with some kind of pineapple curry sauce, which I did like.  I took three bites and put the rest in a to-go box.

It can be Patrick’s appetizer when he gets home from work because dinner is far from ready…goin’ along with the Indian theme (since he requested curry “something”).  That was convenient!

Our third and final stop was the gelato cart.  As Joanna and I were waiting in line and looking at the flavors we both agreed that we wanted chocolate, hands-down.  The other flavors were all too fruity (mango, strawberry, pineapple sorbet).  For me when it comes to ice cream, I’m all go chocolate or go home.  Unfortunately, they were all out of chocolate when we got to the front!  I guess the others had the same idea.  Bummer.  I came home and satisfied my craving for something cool and sweet with some greek yogurt and a spoonful of almond butter

Not exactly the same, but a close second.  Consider sweet tooth satisfied.

Time for me to get my butt in the kitchen, pour myself a glass of wine and make dinner.  On the menu:  Shrimp and chicken curry on top of brown Texmati rice.  Recipe coming soon!  Have a good night!

Responses

  1. […] in Richmond.  This weekend however, all the pieces came together.  You can check out my Saturday here, or if you are feeling lazy, read the recap […]

  2. […] I ordered the usual (you’ve actually seen it once before) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

