Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 23, 2012

TGI The Weekend

How’s everyone’s weekend going so far?? I can’t tell you how happy I am it’s Saturday.  Last week was looong, and although I know this weekend is going to fly by, it’s going to be a good one.

I didn’t get a chance to post yesterday because I had some stuff going on, but I wanted to share with you some Friday Favorites:

Everyday around noon, you can find me in my office break room cutting my pre-prepared salads.  My co-workers often comment that I “make the best salads;”  I try to tell them that I assemble it ahead of time at the grocery store, but I swear everyday someone says something about my flavor combinations (I will say that I do try and get creative).  So one day, a co-worker of mine goes on about this bottled balsamic reduction you can order online.  It’s thicker and sweeter than just a balsamic vinegar; it sounded like the “syrupy” drizzle you find on tomato-basil-mozzarella sometimes.  He said he had just ordered 2 more bottles, and he was going to give me the one he had on hand.

I was so excited the next day when he put that on my desk!  I couldn’t wait to try it out.

The next day I brought in a green salad with grilled chicken, avocado and pesto.  I thought the flavors would pair well with the glaze.

A light drizzle made all the difference!

Ater looking it up online to find out more information, I discovered that the company (Acetum)  makes all different kinds of glazes and sauces.  You can easily order it through Amazon, but 2 bottles of this stuf is over $20 + shipping/handling.  I don’t know if I am that big of a fan.  I will likely use up this bottle and call it a day.  The plain balsamic vinegar works for me anyway!

Later in the day, I saw that a woman on my floor was cleaning out her office.  I had noticed an exercise ball just sitting in it for the longest time.  Yesterday however, I found it in the main hallway with a note that read “For a Good Home.”  So I rolled it right to where I live…

Ultimately, I would like it to improve my posture.  I tend to have a bad back anyway, and with slouching all day at a desk, it really does a number on me.  My office manager Anne sits in one of these:

…which I have thought about getting, and maybe I will one day because I like how it has the lower back support.  But for now, I will accept the office hand-me-downs and save myself $80!

I have really been trying to balance out the desk job by making some small changes.  Aside from the balance ball, I have also tried to take the stairs everyday from where I park.  It is about 5 flights, and while I am not huffing and puffing by the time I reach the top, it does get my heart going.  Every little bit counts!

After grabbing a couple of beers with my friend Joanna

and picking up some ET’s sweet and sour tempeh with quinoa for dinner

I called it a night.  I love going to bed early on a Friday.  It sets me up for a good, productive morning.  I woke up at about 7AM and immediately checked the weather.  70 degrees and sunny?? Yes please!  I threw on my walking gear, grabbed my walking partner, and headed outside for an hour

I didn’t know who was more excited, her or me.  I finally got a face shot though!

I came home and whipped up a blueberry-banana protein pancake with an iced coffee (w/ soy milk, 1 packet of Splenda)

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 2 T soy milk
  • cinnamon
  • Sunflower seed butter
  • rest of the banana sliced

An hour later I headed to barre class.  Today, Ashley (the instructor) incorporate a lot of pilates/mat work in addition to barre work.  I really liked this.  It also shows how much she switches it up and that the moves you can do in each class are endless!

Time to go get ready for my day.  I have some fun things planned:

  • Lunch with my mom at Mosaic.  We are also going to do some shopping for wedding presents we are attending this summer
  • Pedicure (for an impromptu trip to Virginia Beach with the boyfriend tomorrow!)
  • 10th Annual Richmond Vegetarian Food Festival with my friend Joanna, which I found out yesterday from Britanny
  • Cooking an “Indian-inspired” dinner for Patrick tonight (as promised for replacing my air filters in my apartment)

I’ll be back later with some details and a recap.  Have a good Saturday!

Leave a Reply

Categories

