Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 24, 2012

A Day at the Beach

As I predicted the weekend flew by, but in a good way!  I was actually very productive doing things I enjoy, which is always a good combination.  Call me crazy (and you probably will) but given the lack of routine and structure Saturday – Sunday, I sometimes don’t know what to do with myself.  I can also be very lazy especially after a long work week; I know that it’s OK to be lazy–that’s what weekends are for–but I have the personality that doesn’t like to be unproductive.  Finding things to do that I sincerely enjoy, plus finding someone to do them with me, can be a little difficult in Richmond.  This weekend however, all the pieces came together.  You can check out my Saturday here, or if you are feeling lazy, read the recap below:

  • Friday beers with my friend Joanna (who I hadn’t seen in ages)
  • 2 morning walks with Minty in sunny, 70 degree weather
  • Saturday morning barre class
  • Lunch and shopping with my Mom
  • Richmond’s 10th Annual Vegetarian Food Festival
  • Cooked dinner for Patrick (recipe coming next!), after which we watched a bad movie
  • Spontaneous trip to Va. Beach (at the expense of my Sunday barre class, but who am I kidding, it was worth it!)
  • Quick shopping trip to Williamsburg’s Premium Outlets

Shrimp and chicken chickpea curry with brown Texmati rice

Serves 2

  • 1/2 lb of chicken breast, cut into 1 in. pieces
  • 1/2 lb frozen shrimp (this turned out to be a lot, so you could even use less, or leave it out), thawed and cut into 1/2 in. pieces
  • 1/2 c canned chickpeas, drained
  • 1/2 small onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • EVOO
  • 1 t curry powder (I also used a curry sauce to marinate the chicken, which was really easy and added flavor)
  • 1/2 c stock (chicken or vegetable)
  • 1/4 c golden raisins
  • 1/2 c brown rice
  • 1.125 c water

Combine water and rice in a small pot.  Bring to a boil and stir once.  Let the rice simmer for 45 – 55 minutes.

While the rice cooks, marinate the chicken

I used a pre-made curry sauce I found at the grocery store (simple, readable ingredients.  You can bet I checked them!).  You could also combine curry powder, cayenne pepper, etc.  I then put it back in the fridge to sit for an hour.

Heat skillet over medium-high heat with EVOO.  Cook the chicken until almost cooked through.  Remove from skillet.  Cook onions and garlic for about 2 minutes.  Add back chicken, plus the chickpeas, shrimp, raisins.  Cook until chicken is done.  Serve over rice.

I served mine with about 1/3 c cooked rice and some arugula.  Not too shabby if I do say so myself.  Then we ordered Safe House while we ate dinner.

After watching the trailer, I thought it would be good.  There was a lot of action and what seemed like a good plot.  Well I got the action part right…no plot.  I also had a hard time picturing Ryan Reynolds as a CIA agent (I blame it on The Proposal).  I fell asleep about 3/4 of the way through.  Oh well, I had to get up early for the beach anyway!

I woke up around 6 AM to take Minty on an early Sunday stroll.  I didn’t leave the house to meet Patrick to leave for the beach until almost 8:30 AM.  Among taking care of the animals, I had to pack breakfast

Banana-blueberry protein pancake, sunflower seed butter, other 1/2 of banana sliced

Good to know this is transportable!  Now I know I can take it to work.  I have noticed that not only does this breakfast keep me full for 3-4 hours, it is a different kind of fullness feeling.  Sometimes it seems as if oatmeal doesn’t stick with me, and then quickly causes my blood sugar to drop.  Buuut I still love it!

I also packed a sandwich for lunch

Turkey and hummus on a whole wheat sandwich thin, arugula

I paired with a handful of Baked Lentil chips (courtesy of my mom) and an apple

These “chips” were sooo good.  I am usually not a potato chip person just because I tend towards sweet, not savory.  But these were delicious and “airy” tasting.  I had some more dipped in hummus on the way home.  A new favorite snack I think.

Being on the beach is just what I needed today.  I haven’t felt that relaxed in a long time.  How could you not??

I want to live at the beach one day.  I honestly think being on a beach is my favorite place in the world.

What about you–are you a beach, mountain, lake, bay, or river (etc.) person?

We stopped by the Williamsburg Premium Outlets on the way home to get some work shirts for Patrick.  I had absolutley no plans of buying anything while there…

…oops

Where’s my willpower?  To defend myself, I really needed these items (yes, needed).  After house sitting for the past month, I have realized just how crappy by pans and knives are in my apartment.  My one skillet is bowed at the bottem so cooks unevenly; my knives are just plain dull.  No buyers remorse for me!

I also practiced my photography all day.  Our assignment for this week is portraits:

Thoughts??

I ended the day with a home-cooked Ellwoods-cooked meal + the ice cream I had been craving all day

Miso glazed salmon atop a salad with chopped kale, red cabbage, marinated mushrooms, peppers, cukes, carrots, peanuts, O&V

So Delicious Chocolate Coconut Milk ice cream, almond butter blob

On that note, I am signing off.  Goodnight!

Responses

  1. Honestly I have to say, while I love the beach, I have never been a huge beach girl! I get sick of the heat and get bored laying out. That’s not to say I don’t love going, but I doubt I would ever want to live on the beach. I’m more of a mountain or lake girl, for sure. There’s something about mountain and lake houses that just makes me want to stay there forever, they are so relaxing, and if you don’t want to do anything, you don’t have to!

  2. Sounds like a great weekend & a great recipe. I like raisins in my curry!

  3. […] I made the same collard green wrap as yesterday, and took it to-go.  I had a side of apple slices as well.  I am really discovering the portability of my new favorite foods (such as the protein pancake). […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

