Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 25, 2012

‘Use Up What’s in the Kitchen’ Salad

Happy (?) Monday!  Of course it is because it’s almost over!  I hope everyone had a good start to their week.  Wednesday marks the last day of house/dog sitting for me, and while I am sad to leave this one behind…

…I can’t wait to get home to my apartment, my bed, and my best friend.  I am very fortunate that my roommate and best friend are one in the same;  she’s more like my sister (especially when we bicker) and I miss her dearly

That being said, I am trying to use up what’s left of the food I have here.  I am really tired of spending money on food, which I have found myself doing more while away from home (I think Ellwood Thompson should be my mascot).  Being in a strange kitchen makes cooking that much more strenuous because I don’t know what is on hand.  Who doesn’t have non-stick cooking spray?!

Therefore, I made it a goal to bypass the store on the way home from work and make dinner using only what I already had.  I once read in Health magazine that Kristen Bell refers to this meal as a “Garbage Disposal Salad”  (read the interview here).  It has stuck with me, and I always think of it when I make a ‘Use Up What’s in the Kitchen’ Salad (my term –> not as cute…)

Use Up What’s in the Kitchen’ Salad

*Remember, this is not a recipe but a method.  

  • Arugula
  • Curry spiced chickpeas
  • Turkey breast
  • 1/2 baked sweet potato
  • Goat cheese
  • Quinoa
  • Side of sliced apple

For the sweet potato and chickpeas: Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Mix chickpeas, EVOO, and spice of choice (I used a curry blend).  Bake both the chickpeas and sweet potato for 45 mins.  *If you don’t need to bake anything for your ‘Use Up’ salad, you can skip this step

Assemble ingredients and enjoy!

I liked this salad so much, I might just keep these mix-ins in mind.  What’s that called?  Serendipity?  I think so.

Time for some Bachelorette…goodnight!

Responses

  1. awww what a cute pup! and that salad sounds delicious!


Leave a Reply

Categories

