Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 27, 2012

What a WIAW

Sheesh.  Have I had a day.  I am physically and emotionally exhausted, so please forgive me if I make this post short and sweet.

In the industry in which I work, Summer can make some verrry cranky.  Business is slow and the weather is beautiful, yet we are forced to watch through windows.  So when the first couple days of my week went off on the wrong foot, I woke up this morning with a “glass half full” attitude, thinking to myself that I will make this a great day.

I think I jinxed myself.

That being said, my day improved after work, sooo Happy WIAW!  Please go check out Jenn’s blog for more details on the day!

Breakfast

Overnight Oats with 1/3 oatbran, 1/2 soy milk, 1/2 mashed banana, 1 T chia, cinnamon, blackberries, sunflower seed butter.

I won’t bore you with another tupper-ware filled oats picture, but I do have to show you the blackberries I found at ET’s the other day

Look how big they are!  So good.  I may or may not have shown them around to some of my co-workers this morning.  I don’t think they get as excited about blackberries as I do…

Lunch

Veggie hummas sandwich from an outside deli cart, with lettuce, tomato, black olives, roasted red peppers, feta; side of sliced apple

Can you tell I couldn’t wait to take a bite until after I took the picture??

Dinner

After barre this evening, I stopped by Libby market for dinner and some other items.  On the menu:

Green salad with salmon, hard-boiled egg whites, tomatoes, cukes, O&V; side of butternut squash puree 

And for part 2 of the post…

Gotta love themes!

  • 0% Fage yogurt with baby carrots
  • PB&J Larabar

  • Post-work/pre-barre smoothie: spinach, blueberries, soy yogurt, honey, banana

When I got home, Patrick had left a lil’ something for me on the kitchen counter to cheer me up

Suddenly, my bad day disappeared.  It’s things like this that help you to remember what’s important, and that tomorrow is another day.  I will say that I still couldn’t wait to get to barre.  While yoga has always been a good way to de-stress, barre is different in that it not only provides you with mental clarity and calming, but gives you a sense of power and strength.  I feel the best when I feel strong.

What do you turn to when you have had a bad day?  Exercise?  Time with friends and family?  Other outlets?

Baking is another task that calms me down.

On that note, I am hitting the hay.  Goodnight!

Responses

  1. […]  No.  Do I have a gluten intolerance?  No.  Do I not like sandwiches? Hell no!  I had one yesterday.  I have noticed, however, that when I do eat a carb-heavy meal at lunch-time, I can get sluggish […]

  2. This is an interesting read =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

