Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 28, 2012

Getting Over the 3 PM Slump

This week flew by, I’ll tell ya…I can’t believe tomorrow is Friday again, and almost July for that matter!

Last night was the first night back in my own bed after a long month of house sitting.  Although I went to bed pretty late (er, 10:30) I still feel like I had gotten a good rest.  Which brings me into the topic of the post:

How do you stay energized/focused through a long work day? 

I have gotten this question a lot recently, and I believe that diet, exercise, and of course the amount of sleep you get each night all play a big part in your daily performance.

You may have noticed that I have a green salad with grilled chicken (along with other toppings, or “flavor flare” as I like to call it) almost every day.  Am I wanting to lose weight?  No.  Do I have a gluten intolerance?  No.  Do I not like sandwiches? Hell no!  I had one yesterday.  I have noticed, however, that when I do eat a carb-heavy meal at lunch-time, I can get sluggish and tired.  Sometimes work is bad enough, I don’t need a meal to make me want to take a nap.  There have been many an instances when we have had a lunch meeting, and 9 times out of 10 our office manager orders Pizza.  I love pizza.  Do I love pizza at 12 PM on a work day?  Again, no.  I love pizza…on a Friday night, watching a movie, with a cold beer, after which I can go to bed 2 hours later.  During the day, I normally pass it up (except when I really want it.).  If a co-worker asks me why I’m not eating the pizza (and someone always does…”watching your figure I see?”), I tell them straight up:  I don’t like to eat such heavy foods during the work day, they make me tired.”  They then nod in agreement and let it go.

The thing with the salad is that it’s light, so it doesn’t weigh me down.  Truth be told I get hungry 2-3 hours later, but that’s OK with me.  I always have healthy snacks on hand.  In fact, I usually need 2-3 snacks in the afternoon to get me to dinner.  Once again I notice that eating a relatively heavier breakfast, a lighter lunch, and then a few snacks throughout the day helps me to stay focused, energized, and get me over that 3 PM hurdle.

Today was actually a good example of some tactics I use to power me through the day.

Workout

I could not wait to go on a run this morning!  During my house sitting stint, I had a dog to take care of; there was no way she was going to let me exercise in the morning without her.  Therefore, I sacrificed my daily runs for a walk, which I looked forward to, maybe more than Minty

That’s a close call…

It wasn’t until after I got dressed at 5 AM that I realized I left my iPod at the other house.  I think I was too groggy to care, because I grabbed my iPhone (sans headphones-good thing no one else is around at 5 AM), and went the Pandora radio route.  It was hard to keep up a run without the music in my ears, so I succumbed once again to the walk.  Excuse?  Maybe, I haven’t run in a while.  We will see how it goes tomorrow.  But, I knew I had Barre class later in the day, so I didn’t pressure myself either.

Breakfast

Protein Pancake To-Go

Best flip yet!  I might have done a little dance…

In the mix:

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • cinnamon
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • blueberries
  • sunflower seed butter
  • 1/2 banana sliced

I don’t know if it was a mental thing, or if I made my coffee too strong, but I swear I felt more energized throughout the morning vs. when I have oats.  There is something to be said for the amount of protein (hence the name).  I am going to stick with this breakfast for a while and see how it compares.  I’ll keep you posted!

Mid-morning snack (10:30 AM)

More protein: 0% Fage with baby carrots

12:00 PM-When lunch rolled around, I was craving some carbs.  I had packed a salad, so I tried to balance it out:

Green salad with grilled chicken, grapes, feta; a side of hummus and pretzels

This combo definitely did the trick!

Today was a day where 3 PM hit, and hit me hard.  I gave up drinking sodas/diet sodas a while ago, when normally that would be what got me through the slump.  For me, caffeine post-10 AM affects my sleep and energy level (i.e. I end up crashing), so I try to hydrate as much as possible by drinking lots of water.  Other days, like today, I need to take it a step further and go for a walk.  There is nothing like a little fresh air, vitamin D, and mild exercise to get you through the afternoon.

Plus the route I take behind my building doesn’t hurt either…

I did want a snack when I got back, so I grabbed some Kashi GoLean cereal with trail mix for some added energy.

Pre-Barre snack: 5:30 PM

Spoonful of AB with an apple

Dinner tonight was inspired by Brittany.  I wanted to figure out what I was having before I left for barre, and as soon as I read her latest post, it was a done deal.  I did make some changes to fit my tastebuds though!

Collard wrap with a sun-dried tomato lentil burger, avocado, baked sweet potato

Patrick and I also split one of these guys.  It is “Thirsty Thursday” after all…

Hardywood Singel.  Born and bred in RVA.

Oh yea.

The sooner I go to bed, the sooner it’s Friday…Goodnight!

Responses

  1. LOVE the hardywood singel! xo


Leave a Reply

Categories

