Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 30, 2012

I Work Out Because…

Happy Saturday morning!  How’s everyone’s weekend so far? My Friday evening was pretty busy so I didn’t get to post, so I’ll rewind a bit.

I wanted to share something with you…

I saw this come across my news feed in facebook yesterday.  The gym to which I belong posted it, and I’ll tell ya, it could not have rung more true.

I can get pretty bad anxiety.  Not for any particularly reason really, it just creeps up on me from time to time.  I also worry a lot, which is why I am trying to live more in the moment, more for the day, than for five years from now.  But it’s a process for sure.  I keep hearing from those older and wiser that your mid- to late 20s can be tough, characterized by feelings of uncertainty and insecurity about what’s to come.  Because I am single, financially independent, and thus still figuring things out, I am seeing this play out on a daily basis.

As you’ve heard, my house sitting stint for the past month entailed morning walks with Minty, and the occasional barre class in the evenings.  Notice something here?  There is no heart-pumping cardio to be found.  At the time, it was good to give myself a rest from the pressure of breaking a sweat, but towards the end, I felt myself needing it.  For the past couple of days, my anxiety has been through the roof over stupid stuff; well not stupid exactly, it’s all important, but the big-picture, life stuff that I shouldn’t be stressing over.  Let life unfold ya know?

Yesterday I went on a run.  Not a walk, a run.  3.5 miles to be exact.  I was very nervous to get back into it because I hadn’t run in over a month, but I told myself if I needed to walk I could.  But once I started, I didn’t want to stop.  It felt so good, not to mention the Bills Bills Bills playlist on Pandora didn’t hurt either (thanks for the suggestion, Julie!).  I can already tell I am getting back to my old self.  And that my friends, is why I work out.

Why do you work out?

Breakfast yesterday was another Protein Pancake To-Go:

Blueberry-Banana protein pancake with sunflower seed butter

I had 2 snacks in the morning because my usual Fage with baby carrots didn’t tide me over till lunch:

10:00 AM

11:30 AM

It didn’t surprise me though; running in the morning just makes me hungrier

Lunch was another ET’s creationg:

Green salad with spinach, kale, tomatoes, peppers, cashews, 1/2 avocado “eggless” egg salad; side of pretzels and hummus

If you’re wondering what “eggless” egg salad is, it’s made with tofu, veganaise, mustard, turmeric, celery, etc.  I used to make this myself using greek yogurt and curry powder, but I have since gotten soo lazy.

This meal was also very filling.  So filling in fact that I didn’t eat all the pretzels.  This is wierd, because usually if foods in front of me, I eat it.  But I listened to my body and realized I didn’t want it.

2.5 hours later I had a handful of almonds with some M&Ms for the sweet tooth

Post-work, I grabbed some beers with my co-workers (not pictured) and got ready for dinner with some girlfriends.  I had bought a Groupon for Avalon a couple of weeks ago, so I suggested we go there.  I was pretty hungry by this point.  Avalon offers a menu of soups, salads, small plates, and entrees.  I decided to order 2 small plates for my meal.  Unfortunately, I forgot to take pictures because we were so engaged in conversation.  Good thing for Google images!

Chorizo Tacos: house made mexican sausage with queso fresco, crema, salsa verde, cilantro and lime

I also ordered the scallop small plate, but couldn’t find a picture.  I’ll let you use your imagination!

Seared Scallops with truffled eggplant relish and pita chips

I’m off to barre class.  I’ll be back later with my Saturday happenings.  I have got a lot going on actually (i.e. my CrossFit intro class!) and can’t wait to share.

Responses

  1. […] I am able to face whatever comes my way after having already blown off some stress.  Remember, I’m just a happier person when I work out.  And that my friends, is my motivation.  If you would like to see other motivational tips to get […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

