Posted by: saramcglothlin | June 30, 2012

Saturday Sights

I love Saturdays, but I don’t love any day that is 101 degrees outside, with a heat index of 110!  Good thing I got outside early while it was still in the 70s.

I went to bed right after dinner last night, which put me down at about 10:30 PM.  10:30 PM + 8 hours (which my body rarely lets me get) = 6:30 AM.  Yes folks, I woke up at 6:30 on a Saturday morning…when did I become this person?  Oh that’s right, I am getting older and don’t party go out like I used to.  I wouldn’t change it for the world!

It was a beautiful day outside

It wasn’t until I turned the corner that I realized we had a big storm last night!?

Man, I must be a heavy sleeper.

I ended up breaking into a jog 30 minutes in for a total of 45 minutes altogether.  I swear, that Bills Bills Bills station on Pandora is the ultimate motivator.  I was too busy taking in everything around me to run the whole time.

I felt very dehydrated at the end, so I couldn’t even think about putting coffee in my body.  However, I knew that I wanted some caffeine, so I stopped by Starbucks on my way back to grab a Venti unsweetened green ice tea

To continue on with the “cool & refreshing” I made breakfast with yogurt, 1/2 mashed banana, blueberries, Kashi GoLean, Cascadian Farms Multi-Grain Squares, sun butter and the rest of the banana sliced

…and what was left of the cinnamon.  I go through those shakers quickly!

I went off the barre and my roommate joined me this time around.  I loved seeing her face throughout the class.  While some would classify it as a mixture of yoga, ballet, and pilates, I would classify it as hard, intense, and your muscles will be on fire.  I bought a new class package for 18 sessions, and even signed up for the July Challenge: 20 classes in 30 days!  Bring on the burn!  I even bought a new tank to celebrate

I had my CrossFit intro class at Noon today, so I ate a post-barre snack: 2 hard-boiled eggs with hummus

We didn’t actually work out in CrossFit today.  Since we had all bought the Amazon Daily Deal online, it was an intro mini-session all about CrossFit Full Circle, how to sign up for classes, what to expect etc.  I snapped some pictures of the gym, but they are moving locations in a couple of weeks, so don’t get your heart set on this one yet (it’s a good thing, this facility didn’t have AC)

While the session was informative, I was ready to work out!  Guess I will just have to wait…

I ran by ET’s for lunch and picked up a black bean burger pattie and put it on a salad

Black Bean pattie with mixed greens, kale, red cabbage, peppers, tomatoes, 1/2 avocado, O&V

and I paired it with a sliced apple

Piece of dark chocolate with almond butter for dessert

I’ve got to hurry and get ready for Relay For Life this afternoon/evening!  I am so excited; my boss was recently diagnosed with cancer and so my office put together a team in his honor.  Our team raised the most money out of everyone!  Stay tuned for a recap tomorrow.  I hope everyone has a great Saturday night!!

Responses

  1. […] I mentioned yesterday, my boss, Joe, was recently diagnosed with Stage 4 colon cancer.  Two of my colleagues put […]

  2. you are keeping ET’s in biz! i love that place 🙂

  3. […] heading to Barre (class #5 in the Barre Star Challenge), I whipped up a quick summer salad to bring to Patrick’s for dinner […]

  4. […] of WIAW.  I swear the theme this month has kept me going on my fitness goals (not to mention a Barre Star Challenge and a CrossFit Groupon hasn’t hurt either).  It is safe to say that my day with filled with […]

  5. […] “winners” got $50 off their next 20-class package purchase, a free richmondbarre tank, and a chance to win a $50 massage.  I REALLY wanted that massage.  Although my name did not get […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

