Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 2, 2012

Introvert or Extrovert?

Raise your hand if you are on vacation this week for the 4th of July…

I’m not, but everyone and their mom in my office is, so this week is going to be sloooow.  Good thing the stock market closes at 1 PM tomorrow for a half day!

What’s on my afternoon agenda you ask?

  • Out to lunch with Patrick
  • Pedicure
  • Some me time
  • either 5 o’clock barre (my idea of a happy hour) or hitting golf balls with my brother
  • Cook out tomorrow at my friend Chad and Sarah’s house.

We’ll see how many items on that list actually happen, especially the “me” time.  It’s so funny, because in high school and college, I would hands-down classify myself as an extrovert.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a hermit, I still love being around my friends and family in social situations, but in the past couple of years, I have become so much more introverted.  Maybe it’s coming into my own as I move through my 20s, feeling more secure with myself…or maybe it’s coming home each day after spending 10 hours with a bunch of monkeys men on a sales and trading floor, and therefore I don’t want to talk to a single person.  I’m tired, exhausted, and I sound like my mother (just kidding!).  OK, I’ll say it’s a little bit of both…but in all seriousness, I find nothing wrong (very appealing actually) with staying in on a Friday night reading my book (especially when you are reading Fifty Shades of Grey…kidding again…kind of).

Do you consider yourself to be an extrovert, introvert, or a little bit of both?

This goes back to what I said in an earlier post about taking care of yourself.  I used to feel obligated to “yes” to everything, always trying to please.  But I realized that if I put too much on my plate, I felt overwhelmed, and that I wasn’t doing what was best for me.  Learn to say no when you can.  There will be more opportunities down the road to hang out with/do something for that person.  But, if doing everything you can for others, with others, is what makes you happy, of course do that!

Workout

I was actually planning to go for a run outside this morning; I wasn’t quite ready to go back to the gym, as it has been over a month since even walking in the building (since I was dog sitting for the past month and walking her outside, in case you didn’t know). But I saw lightning when I woke up, so I didn’t have much of a choice.  It actually wasn’t so bad.  I have gotten into listening to Pandora on my phone, so that has switched things up a bit.  I did a 45 minute cardio circuit, which entailed:

  • 15 minutes on the elliptical
  • 15 minutes walking inclines on the treadmill
  • 15 minutes on the stationary bike, while reading how Kelly Clarkson lost 30 pounds (you won’t learn anything new, I promise).

Breakfast

OO in a jar!

It has been waaay too long since I had OO in a jar (2 years maybe?), and I have no idea why.  I guess I just got accustomed to my tupperware-and-nut butter-blob combination that I just never thought about it.  After seeing the perfect amount of sunflower seed butter left for OOIAJ, I made it right away:

  • 1/3 c oats
  • 1/2 c soy milk
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • blueberries
  • sliced banana on top
Combine everthing in an almost empty jar of your favorite nut butter, leave it in the fridge overnight, and there you have it the next morning.

Lunch

I made the same collard green wrap as yesterday, and took it to-go.  I had a side of apple slices as well.  I am really discovering the portability of my new favorite foods (such as the protein pancake).

Snacks

A couple of hours after lunch, I ate a new bar that I found at ET’s.  I think I subconsciously bought it because it looked like a GTG bar.  Turns out, it tasted pretty similar!

And a pre-barre snack of pretzel thins and Peace & Love Bites

This mix actually held me over throughout the whole class.  Fwew, because barre is hard when you’re hungry!

Dinner

Green salad with salmon, tomatoes, peppers, broccoli, cukes, edamame, goat cheese, sweet potato; side of watermelon

The salmon was super easy.  All I did was marinate it in some dressing I had on hand and put it in the oven on broil for 8 minutes.  Done.

I hope everyone had a ‘mazing Monday.  I’m going to go curl up with my book in bed.  Goodnight!

 

Responses

  1. […] 40 hours of sweet mid-week vacation!  And it’s been glorious so far…but ya know that afternoon “to-do” list from yesterday? […]

  2. […] disappointed in myself for sleeping away a beautiful 4th of July, but hey, it is on a Wednesday, I rarely get me time, I don’t have a pool to go to, and I guess I needed some sleep.  A big group of my friends […]

  3. […] that I need social interaction more than I give myself credit for.  I may have become more of an introvert in recent years, but a bad case of the blues, driven by over-time at work, and under-time with […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

