Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 2, 2012

Weathering, Cooking, Eating Through the Storms

Hello all!  I had a post all ready to publish last night, but the recent storms in Richmond for the past few days (and all over the east coast for that matter) messed up my electricity.  I never lost power, but a lot of people did, so I guess when it was getting worked on, wires got crossed somehow and affected my electricity in some rooms of my apartment, and even as specific as some power sockets.  My internet was down as well.  It was so wierd.

To quickly give you a taste (pun intended) of my last 48 hours:

After Relay For Life on Saturday, Patrick and I made plans to go to dinner after he got home.  Since he doesn’t get off work until 8 PM (i.e. 2 hours past my usual dinner time), I had a quick snack to tide me over

Almond Butter with Pretzel Thin

Patrick suggested we go to Don’t Look Back, a taco place in town.  I am not totally sure of the background, but it sounds like it was a taco truck turned restaurant.  That’s pretty cool…and I heard they served delicious food so I agreed right away.  I was craving a fish taco anyway.

Unfortunately, it looked way too crowded when we drove past, so we decided upon The Franklin Inn.  It is a quaint, hole-in-the-wall establishement (my favorite kind of restaurant) in the heard of Richmond’s Fan District.  I had never eaten there, but had heard good things, so I thought it was a good Plan B.

It was also crowded, so we sat at the bar to wait out our 20 minute delay.

Allagash White on tap…a good start

After about 5 minutes, Patrick realized how hungry he was, so we decided to eat at the bar. They were offering a tuna sandwich as a special, but the waitress advised that she just has that without the bun.  It’s like she read my mind!  A nice piece of tuna is exactly what I wanted!

Unfortunately (round 2) they had just served the last filet, so I went with a crab cake instead.  Plus, they did have sweet potato fries, which immediately offset any tuna-related disappointment.

Paired with a side of sauteed veggies.  I also ordered a glass of pinot grigio to have with dinner.

And free hush puppies for not having the tuna!  I only ate one, because I am not one to turn down free food.  I took the waitress’ advice and dipped it in their house-made hot sauce.  Holy moly it was good.

This was a lot.  I ate about 1/3 of the fries and took the rest home.  Unfortunately (what’s the saying…bad things come in 3s?) I left the to-go box in my car overnight.  Oops.

I woke up on Sunday morning feeling good and refreshed after my 2nd night of 8 hours of sleep.  That guideline should never be underestimated by the way.  I also couldn’t wait to eat breakfast in my birthday bowl.  My good friend Joanna has really gotten into ceramics, and made this bowl for me.  I absolutely love it and am hoping she begins to sell them (she’s working on a website right now).

I had the same thing as Saturday morning: yogurt, 1/2 mashed banana, blueberries, Kashi GoLean, Cascadian Farms Multi-Grain Squares, sun butter and the rest of the banana sliced

Hand-made and signed, just for me: “Jo.”

It was supposed to be another scorcher (high of 97 degrees), so I got outside while I could.  Due to the fact that I work at a desk all day, not getting fresh air and vitamin D on the weekends seems like a sin.  I have to get a dose at least once a day.  I only made it about 45 minutes and was pretty sweaty when I returned.  The “Ghetto Cowboy” station on Pandora got me through.  Seriously, if you like working out to rap music (90s rap music that is), try this station.  It’s the best!

The rest of my Sunday entailed making Mama Pea’s black bean burgers from her cookbook

I have made these BBB a few times.  They are so easy and flavorful.  I didn’t have some of the ingredients on hand however (onions or mushrooms) so I made do using just the black beans, oat flour, and spices (I did have the soy sauce, tahini, and worcestershire sauce, which makes a huge difference).  Cook them in a skillet over medium-high heat, and voila!

I used the patty to make a collard green wrap with hummus, and avocado

Other Sunday Funday Faves:

  • A very tough barre class, and the start of the July Challenge that I signed up for: 20 classes in 30 days…wish me luck!
  • Going to see The Intouchables with my roommate.  This might have been one of the best movies I have seen in a while.  I went straight to my brother’s house for dinner afterwards and told him it was the best movie I have ever seen.  Ever.  That’s a bold statement and I can’t decide yet whether it’s true.  All I know is that I really liked it!  Warning: it’s in French, but if you can read subtitles (and are willing) it’s a must see and truly inspiring!
  • Getting nut butter happy at the grocery store.  I told you, once I walk on the nut butter aisle I am like a kid in a candy store (with no mom around to tell me no!)

  • Sunday night dinner at my brother’s.  He had called me that morning exclaiming that he had just made “the best bar-b-que sauce ever.”  Yes, bold, emphatic statements must run in the family.  I will have to admit, it was pretty darn delicious.

Bbq chicken with broccoli pasta salad, and greens

I’m headed to Barre for Day 2, class 2 of the challenge!

Responses

  1. […] made the same collard green wrap as yesterday, and took it to-go.  I had a side of apple slices as well.  I am really discovering the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

