Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 4, 2012

WIAW: Patriotic Protein Pancake & 4th of July Fun

Happy 4th of July!! It almost slipped my mind that it was also WIAW.  Almost.  I think it’s because I forgot it was a Wednesday, but as soon as I remembered, I headed straight to Jenn’s blog to check it out.  I love the theme this month, by the way

It’s important to remember that Summer is a time for fun.  There will be cookouts, fro-yo, beer and baseball games.  At the same time however, maintaining a focus on fitness is just as important, as it helps me to enjoy myself even more.  *Balance.*

I am actually going to be very busy this month on the fitness front.  First of all, I signed up for Richmond Barre’s 30 Day Challenge: 20 classes in 30 days.  This means that I have to go to barre at least 4x a week.  After signing up for all my classes, it’s doable, but it’s going to be tough!

I also have 60 days to use up the 12 CrossFit classes I bought on Amazon Daily Deals.  This actually might not happen (unless I squeeze them all into August), but I am just glad I got started, otherwise I would have stayed scared of CrossFit forever!

Workout

My alarm went off at 4:45 AM as it normally does on a week day.  I jumped out of bed to turn it off, but something didn’t feel right.  In the back of my mind I knew I should not be waking up.  After bypassing my sleepy confusion, I realized that I in fact did not have to go into work today.  Best.  Feeling.  Ever.

I slept another 4 hours and woke up at 9:00 AM.  It has been a while since I have slept that late.  I hit the outdoors for a 3 mile run, after which I walked for another 30 minutes.  I just love to walk and take in the morning.  Plus, look what I found!

Not 1, not 2, not 3, but 4 lucky pennies.  OK, I am very superstitious, and I always have to pick up a penny if it’s on heads (I have actually almost been hit by a car when stopping in the middle of the street to pick one up.  How ironic would that have been?! Now I look both ways).  Anyway, it made my day.

Breakfast

I was feeling patriotic, so I threw some strawberries into my usual blueberry-banana protein pancakes

Patriotism at its best…

In the mix:

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop of brown rice protein powder
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • 2 T soy milk
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • blueberries
  • strawberries
  • sun butter and sliced banana on top

I hate to say how lazy I have been today.  After breakfast, I cleaned up a bit around my apartment, put on my PJs and got back in bed!  Granted, I read for a while, but it didn’t take long before I fell asleep.  I napped for a good hour.  I was a little disappointed in myself for sleeping away a beautiful 4th of July, but hey, it is on a Wednesday, I rarely get me time, I don’t have a pool to go to, and I guess I needed some sleep.  A big group of my friends actually went tubing down the James River today, but that is just not my scene.  For those of you who don’t know, “tubing” around here is not the back-of-the-boat tubing which I consider to be very fun.  This is a 4-hour float down the river on a tube, while drinking a lot of beer in the hot sun.  Again, not my scene.  Additionally, sewage levels in the river have reached an all-time high:

About 2.6 million gallons of partially treated sewage flowed into the James River on Saturday when Lynchburg’s sewage-treatment plant lost power, officials said Tuesday.  Source: Richmond Times Dispatch

No thank you.

Lunch

Mixed green salad with celery, cukes, tomatoes, peppers, broccoli, Ellwood’s sweet and sour Tempeh, sweet potato

And a Kombucha to jumpstart my afternoon

If you haven’t noticed, I have been eating more sweet potatoes than normal.  I have always baked mine in the oven, which takes about an hour.  And since I am the “I’m hungry right now” kind of girl, I rarely have the patience for it unless I plan in advance.  I have always been skeptical about using the microwave, because I didn’t think they would turn out as good, but after discovering the “Baked Potato” button, it’s changed my world:

Thanks for the suggestion Wesley!

Now I’m off to get ready for my first Richmond Squirrel’s baseball game!!  (Yes our minor league baseball team’s mascot is the flying squirrel.  Don’t make fun.)  My friend Katie and her bf got tickets for tonight and invited Patrick and I along.  I have heard they are very fun and have some of the best fireworks around, and since I didn’t get to see fireworks last year, I’m pumped.

Happy 4th!

Responses

  1. Teach me how to link up my WIAW posts I can’t figure it out haha!

    • Ha, OK I’ll call you tonight

  2. Somedays its good to just have a “me” day full of relaxing. **I so do not blame you about not going tubing either girl! Hope you had a great night at the baseball game + fireworks

  3. […] was late getting off the river from his tubing trip, so I went ahead and made dinner at home beforehand.  I had every intention of eating a hot dog at […]

  4. Your quinoa+tilapia+fig looks amazing – I love figs and love that you and LL both blogged about them this week! Cute pic of you and P at the game xo


Leave a Reply

Categories

