Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 5, 2012

Going Nutz and a New Recipe

Man did it feel like a Monday!  I did not want to be at work today.  However, it was about 106 degrees here in Richmond, so if I wasn’t at work, I would have been inside somewhere.

I hope everyone had a happy 4th!  Despite it being on a school night, I had a blast going to my first ever Richmond Squirrel’s baseball game.

Patrick was late getting off the river from his tubing trip, so I went ahead and made dinner at home beforehand.  I had every intention of eating a hot dog at the ballpark (those go together so well), but I was too hungry to wait.  I made a random plate of eats with what I had in my kitchen

Egg sandwich (1 egg, 1 egg white) with pesto and goat cheese on whole wheat; a side of fruit and pretzel thins

Then it was time to take me to the ball game!

And what’s a ball game without a beer?  These were about the size of my head, and $8 a piece, so you only need 1 for so many reasons

There were sights to see in between innings…

Going Nutz!  A race between a hazelnut, peanut, and cashew…don’t ask.  The mascot also happens to be “Nutzy.”  I see a pattern here…

And one of the best firework displays I have ever seen.  They totally made up for missing them last year!

Speaking of nuts, I bought my fourth jar of nut butter today:  Welcome Crunchy Peanut Butter…

I don’t usually buy peanut butter, but I have something in mind for this guy.  TBB (To Be Blogged)!

But what I can share with you is a delicious dish I cooked for dinner tonight

Fig and Goat Cheese Quinoa with tilapia and brussel sprouts

As soon as I saw Laura Lea’s recipe for Fig and Goat Cheese Pasta, I knew I needed those flavors in my life pronto.

For the quinoa:

  • 1/4 c dry quinoa
  • 1/2 c water
  • 2 figs, diced
  • goat cheese to taste
Bring the water and quinoa to a boil.  Reduce to simmer and stir occasionally.  Once cooked, set aside in a separate bowl to cool.
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Prepare brussel sprouts (I just sprayed with canola oil cooking spray, S&P) and tilapia.  I marinated it with this:
Bake both for 20 minutes, turning the tilapia over half way.
Once the quinoa cools, combine figs and goat cheese.  Serve!
I hate to toot my own horn, but this was sooo good.  Thanks LL for the idea!
The chocolate coconut ice cream with a PB blob for dessert wasn’t too shabby either…

Goodnight!

Responses

  1. […] I said I had a little tasty treat up my sleeve for the newly arrived jar of PB…but first a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

