Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 6, 2012

If You Can’t Get the Gold, Go For the Silver

Happy weekend!  I hope you have some fun things planned, or if you are like me, no plans at all!  Sometimes those kinds of weekends are great (and necessary) to have.

Yesterday, I said I had a little tasty treat up my sleeve for the newly arrived jar of PB…but first a rewind:

Think back to my New York trip, upon when Laura Lea got me hooked introduced me to Grab the Gold Bars

However, after learning how expensive they were to order and ship, I made sure to save a wrapper and write down the ingredients to see if I could recreate it myself

I love to recreate (and healthify if necessary) a variety of foods and recipes.  But since I was very uncertain of the method here (Bake? No Bake?), I decided to do a little more research.  Thanks to Super Glue Mom, I actually found a homemade, “healthified” version of Grab the Gold Bars!  While I do like to challenge myself and come up with recipes all my own, I couldn’t resist as these sounded exactly like what I was looking for.  I did have to tweak the ingredients a bit to accommodate for the items I had on hand.  I even want to call these “Silver Bars” because I know they won’t be as good as the “real” thing, but a close second (second-silver…get it?  Yes, I’m corny, and I like it)

Silver Bars adapted from Super Glue Mom’s Homemade Grab the Gold Bars

  • 2 c organic rolled oats
  • 2 c soy flour
  • 1/2 c crunchy organic peanut butter
  • 1/3 c honey
  • 2 T cocoa powder
  • 1/2 c soy milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (I didn’t have any left, so I did without)

Mix the oats and soy flour in a large bowl and set aside.  Heat a small sauce pan over low heat and add rest of the ingredients.  Stir slowly until mixed well.  Add wet ingredients to dry. **A very thick, sticky batter formed, with which I had to use my hands to roll like a dough.  I then spread it evenly into a 9×9 in. pan.  Cover with Saran wrap and place in the fridge for at least an hour, or overnight if desired.

I plan to leave these in the fridge for a couple of hours, and then use my new cookie/biscuit cutter to make round bars

Thanks Mom!

The only thing I really had planned this weekend was to make these…check!

Workout/Breakfast

I headed outside for a run bright and early this morning, but again the air was soo hot and humid, I only made it 3 miles, until I had to walk the remaining 2 left on my loop.  When will the heat wave wane!?  Please try to empathize!

Weekend Forecast

TonightJul 6

Partly Cloudy98°FObserved High3:45 pm

SatJul 7

Partly Cloudy103°

SunJul 8

Partly Cloudy

104°

And that is not including the heat index people.
I then whipped up a Strawberry-Banana Protein Pancake to take to work
In the mix:
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • 2 T soy milk
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • cinnamon
  • 1/2 c diced strawberries
  • almond butter blob on top with rest of banana, sliced

Lunch

Big green salad with grilled chicken and the rest of my Mom’s homemade roasted red pepper & basil hummus

While I was eating this, I came to the realization that my Mom can make hummus better than Sabra, Tribe and myself combined.  It was so good, and I was sad to see the end of it (hint, hint).

It didn’t take but a wee hour and half until I was hungry again, so I broke out a snack: Barney Butter packet on a Heart Thrive Chocolate Chip Vegan Bar

Here’s a question of the day for ya: Why is it that carbs and nut butter are the only things that really make me feel full??

Well,  I guess you can’t answer that for me, but does anyone else have this same…how do I put this since I don’t consider it a problem per se…dilemma?  Question?  Feeling?

2.5 hours later it was almost time to leave for the day, and I could hear my stomach start to growl again.  I made sure to eat an apple and baby bel lite cheese round (not pictured) before I left, because I knew if I didn’t, an impulse stop at Ellwood’s would happen, and going there on an empty stomach is dangerous.

Another 2.5 hours later…I swear, I better be reaping the benefits of a fast metabolism

Handful of blueberries with “trail mix” (soy nuts, almonds, peanuts, sesame sticks)

Seeing as though it is 6:30 PM, I would have just had dinner, but I must wait for the boyfriend; he’s cooking me turkey tacos after he gets off work, and we won’t be eating until after 8:30.  On that note, I am going to go browse Netflix for a movie (since it will be my choice-hopefully!).  Have a great Friday night!

 

Responses

  1. […] then took my Silver Bars out of the fridge to see how they turned out.  Just like my pancake, size, nor shape, matters here […]

  2. I’m so glad you were able to adjust my version of Grab the Gold with items you had on hand! I too was “hooked” on them but they are expensive! Thanks for sharing my recipe. 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing my recipe! I am glad you were able to adjust the ingredients to accommodate to what you had on hand. 🙂

  4. […] last of my Silver Bars (This weekend I want to concoct a new protein bar recipe-stay […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

