Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 8, 2012

Some Saturday and Sunday Eats

Another Sunday coming to a close…the bad news?  Tomorrow’s Monday.  The good news?  I think this heat wave is almost over! Mother nature is calling for 80 degree days all week, and you know what that means…more morning runs for me!

Last night I went to dinner with Patrick and some friends to Tarrant’s Cafe.  I have eaten at Tarrant’s only once, but it has been a while; no one else had been, so I suggested we go.

I love the atmosphere.  The building has so much history as it used to be a drug store from 1893 until whenever it was turned into a restaurant (date unknown).  Atmosphere is definitely an aspect I think about when deciding where to dine.

The bread was to die for.  Butter, pesto, this was my second piece…enough said

I ended up ordering 2 “appetizers” from the Saturday Night Specials.

As soon as I saw what went onto the Pita Pizza, I was done: hummus, mozzarella cheese, olives, banana peppers, broccoli, roasted red peppers, onions.

I also ordered the spinach salad

As you can see, the portions are HUGE.  I ate 2 slices of the pita pizza and most of the salad.  Although I took the rest home, the to-go box mysteriously disappeared from my fridge overnight.  Hmmm…yes Ryan, I’m looking at you (<— guy friend who spent the night at my apt after he went to bars).

Today has definitely been a laaazy Sunday.  It started off with an awesome breakfast

Blueberry-Banana Protein Pancake w/ Flax; side of 0% Fage with peach slices

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  • 1 T ground flax
  • 2 T soy milk
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • blueberries
  • cinnamon
  • almond butter blob with sliced banana on top

If you noticed, I substituted my usual 1 T of chia for ground flax.  I don’t really know why.  While I know that they are both super sources of omega-3 fatty acids, I wanted to learn more so of course I did a little research:

Chia seeds, known for their role in hair-growing potted plants, rival flaxseeds for nutritional super status. Both offer high levels of omega-3 fatty acids, while offering protein, fiber and antioxidants.

Source: Livestrong.com

The conclusion of the comparison?  Both offer good sources of protein and healthy fats; Chia seeds are also known for providing soluble fiber and calcium; flax however is lower in calcium but a good source of iron.  Having had low iron levels in the past, that struck me as interesting, and also something to remember.

Just thought I’d share!  What are some of your favorite foods for those good ole’ Omega-3s?  Do you eat more chia seeds than flax, or vice versa?

Responses

  1. Mmm I love chia and flax seeds. But if I hadddd to decide, it would probably be flax 🙂

  2. […] a good 10 hour sleep (yes!), I woke up this morning pretty hungry.  A big, fluffy, Blueberry-Banana Flax Protein Pancake was calling my […]

  3. […] small blueberry-banana-flax protein pancakes, made with coconut milk (instead of my usual splash of soy).  I topped it with a combo blob of […]

  4. […] Breakfast = a blueberry-banana-flax protein pancake (yea, you’ve seen it before) […]

  5. I like to eat some chia seeds because it is also rich in Omega-3 fatty acids. They are very nutritious just like flax seeds. “,.,*

    Warm regards http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com“>

  6. […] So versatile, and SO good for you! […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

