Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 9, 2012

Gimme Summer Yummin’

It’s about my bed time, but I just had to share with you 2 delicious summer “recipes” (concoctions, really) that I made this afternoon

Fruit Salad Smoothie

Serves 1

  • Frozen blackberries
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 apple, diced
  • 1/3 c soy milk
  • 1/3 c yogurt
  • 2 big handfuls of spinach

No theme, no direction, just a mix of the good stuff for one delicious drink.

I also have to accredit this yogurt for some of the flavor

My roommate loves this stuff, so I decided to try it.  I added 1/2 of the container to my smoothie, and the remaining 1/2 to my Overnight Oats for tomorrow morning  I. Can’t. Wait.  I can already tell it is going to be soo good.  There is nothing better than waking up to an already-made breakfast you’re excited to eat (#thesimplethings).  Stay tuned!

Before heading to Barre (class #5 in the Barre Star Challenge), I whipped up a quick summer salad to bring to Patrick’s for dinner tonight:

Arugula, Peach, & Goat Cheese Summer Salad

  • Arugula
  • 1 ripe peach, sliced
  • Goat cheese to taste
  • 1/4 c toasted walnuts
  • 1 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 T red wine vinegar
  • 1 T EVOO

Whisk lemon juice, honey, red wine vinegar and EVOO in the bottom of a salad bowl.  Add rest of ingredients and mix well. *I made sure to wait until walnuts had cooled before adding in order to not melt the goat cheese.

 

Patrick and I paired it with a few filets of Spadefish he caught last weekend on a fishing trip with his family:

 

From farm sea to table!

Hope y’all had a good Monday…goodnight!

Responses

  1. Omg that salad looks amazing!!!! Def want to recreate. Hope all is well with you–sounds like it is! Miss you xoxo

  2. […] Fruit Salad Smoothie before barre (they’re all different!) […]

  3. […] weekend.  I apologize in advance for the mouth-watering that is about to take place.  Note: the Peach, Goat Cheese Spinach salad was of course my contribution. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

