Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 10, 2012

A Case of the Tuesdays

I think I realized something about myself today.  I am someone who, when days are hectic, filled to the brim with items to cross off the to-do list, wants to be doing nothing but laying down with my bookmarked blogs a good book.  On the other hand, on days where I have nothing to do (OK, there is always something I can be doing, I just don’t feel like doing it), I wish I was more productive.  What’s that called?  The “grass is greener” syndrome?  Ugh I hope not; my pet peeve is people who are never satisfied…alright then, I’d rather be busy than bored.  There I said it.

Today was definitely a busy day! Ever since I started taking photography on Tuesday nights, Tuesdays have been looong.  Working until 5PM, and then concentrating in class from 7-10PM can wear me down.  But, it’s something I did for myself and sincerely enjoyed while doing it, making tonight’s final class somewhat bitter-sweet.  I did learn all that I had set out to learn, so now I am able to continue on with the hobby, and for that it was worth it.  Here are some of the photos I showed for my final assignment (which was take pictures of fireworks on the 4th, and then 4-5 images of a subject of your choice):

Workout/Breakfast

I hit the gym this morning at 5 AM and proceeded to do 30 minutes on the stairstepper, a 5 minute cool-down while walking on the treadmill, and 5 minutes of stretching.  I found myself going into downward dog again…I think my body is trying to tell me something.  If only we could do downward dog in barre class, I would be all set!  Anyway, it was a quick, cardio-infused workout, which is what I needed to get the day started.

Breakfast entailed grabbing  my Vanilla-Blackberry-Almond OO out of the fridge, which I took to work.

I’m telling you, these were the creamiest OO I have ever had.  So good.

Yup.  In the mix:

  • 1/3 c oats
  • 1/2 c soy milk
  • 1 T flax
  • blackberries
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1/2 of Siggi’s Vanilla yogurt
  • cinnamon
  • almond butter blob with sliced bananas on top

I do have one qualm…despite the nutritional index and protein power that is found in this concoction, it didn’t keep me full and focused like protein pancakes.  I think I need to experiment on this one, but if anyone has any thoughts on why that might be the case, please be my guest!

Lunch

I had lunch with a friend who works in my building.  This marked the first time in over a week I have wanted to walk outside to eat.  Usually I do pack as it is more economical and efficient, but getting out of the office is good from time to time (when it is not 100 degrees that is).  We decided to make it a long lunch and walk a few blocks down to Urban Farmhouse, which is definitely my favorite lunch spot in downtown Richmond.  It is a little pricey however, so it’s a splurge for sure.

I ordered the hummus and sweet pepper sandwich on 9 grain bread.

I meant to ask for some greens as I don’t really like plain potato chips (pretzels? Yes.  Blue corn chips and salsa?  Yes.  Sweet potato fries? Duh).  I would rather have a side salad or some fruit anyway.  Oh well, the sandwich was all I needed.  Nothing like homemade hummus.

After many snacks helped to get me through the afternoon, I whipped up another summer salad before class

Turkey-Pesto Arugula Salad

Serves 2

  • 1.5 T pesto
  • 1 T balsamic
  • 1 T EVOO
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • Arugula
  • Turkey (I used deli meat; chicken or other proteins could work too)
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • goat cheese to taste
  • Walnuts (or I think pine nuts would be good, but I didn’t have any)
  • 1 avocado (optional)

Whisk the first 4 ingredients in the bottom of a large salad bowl.

Add the rest of the ingredients up to the avocado and toss to coat.  Top with avocado if desired.

I made enough to pack for lunch tomorrow as well.  Good thing I did; it was damn good!

Sweet potato on the side

Four hours later, as I’m writing this post, I made myself a bedtime snack

Kashi GoLean, Cascadian Farms Organic Chex, soy milk, 1/2 frozen banana, sunbutter blob

Sweet dreams!

Responses

  1. Congrats on finishing your photography class. All of your pictures turned out so good! Thanks for sharing your turkey-arugala pesto salad. I’m heading to the kitchen now to make it 🙂

  2. you’re fireworks pics are awesome! hope the class was helpful. can’t wait to share the turkey salad with family, seeing how we have a ton leftover from a weekend party 🙂

    • I hope you like it!

  3. […] second helping to my Turkey-Pesto Arugula salad from last night; […]

  4. […] cat that hangs around my building because my neighbor feeds him (her?).  You’ve seen him/her here before.  I’ve never been a cat person, but I am an animal person, and there was no […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

