Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 11, 2012

WIAW: My Night with Magic Mike

Happy WIAW!  Yes it is…I just got back from seeing Magic Mike… ahem, more on that in a bit.

Thanks once again to Jenn for hosting another week of WIAW.  I swear the theme this month has kept me going on my fitness goals (not to mention a Barre Star Challenge and a CrossFit Groupon hasn’t hurt either).  It is safe to say that my day with filled with all three of Fun, Food, and Fitness!

This morning I was a tad testy when my alarm went off at 4:45 AM.  However, I knew that it was going to be another long day, and after imagining that post-workout feeling filled with endorphins, I hit the streets

If you can’t tell, that is a hill (it’s Richmond, not San Fran); I alternated between a fast-paced walk and running for 4 miles; I tried to run up each “hill” I encountered.

Breakfast

I have been frustrated by my protein pancakes of late.  This morning however, I crossed my fingers and…FLIP!  It finally turned out.

Blackberry-Banana-Flax Protein Pancake

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1 T flax
  • cinnamon
  • 2 T soy milk
  • blackberries
  • almond butter/walnut butter blob with sliced bananas on top

Sorry if my protein pancakes are becoming repetitive.  I made the conclusion today that this is the breakfast of champions…i.e. the breakfast that keeps me full for more than three hours.  If that doesn’t deserve a gold star, I don’t know what does.

Lunch

The second helping to my Turkey-Pesto Arugula salad from last night; apple.

Snacks

Mid-Morning

Afternoon

Heart Thrive Chocolate Vegan bar with Barney Butter on top

Handful of almonds, apple, baby bel lite cheese round

Now onto date night…

One of my best friends, Lindsay was in town from Charlottesville, and she suggested we go to dinner tonight.  But after reading Chelsea’s review of Magic Mike, I had a better idea…

Dinner + Movie = CineBistro!

This was only my second time to CineBistro, and for those of you that are unfamiliar, in a nutshell:

Richmond’s most innovative movie and dining experience, featuring Executive Chef Matt Woodward’s American Bistro menu prepared from scratch each day using only the finest and freshest ingredients available. And complement it all with premium cocktails, extensive wine selections and movie-inspired drinks.

Lindsay and I started off with a bottle of wine

and both ordered the veggie burger (hold the swiss cheese and mayo, add avocado) with sweet potato fries.

Male strippers and sweet potato fries?!  Yes please!  OK, don’t judge until you see it!  Trust me…I consider myself a movie buff, but allow yourself this one guilty pleasure.  Be aware: the plot is somewhat shallow and the acting sub-par; a minor sacrifice, I’m telling ya.

Time for me to wind down my WIAW, but before I go, I have a question for you:

I am strongly considering attending the Healthy Living Summit (HLS) in Boston at the end of August, and while I don’t consider myself afraid of new situations, it is a bit intimidating not knowing anyone.

Is anyone else planning to attend?  If so, are you braving it by yourself, or have you already made friends with fellow bloggers?  

Please let me know!

Responses

  1. I won’t be at the summit but I’ll be living in Boston by then! Let me know if you come and I’d love to try to see you!

    • I don’t think I am going to be able to make it this year actually…but good to know you are going to be up there! I saw that you were moving there. I have family in Boston, so I’ll definitely be coming around!

  2. Great job on getting yourself up and knocking out the 4 miles this morning girl :). Also, how do you like Barney Butter? I just ordered some the other day, and am crossing my fingers i’ll love it.

    **I tried your turkey pesto arugula salad (omitted the turkey bc i had none & used romaine lettuce instead), and I want to tell you that it was absolutely delicious! Thank you for that recipe girl!

    • I’m so glad you liked it! Pesto is an amazing flavor. I do like Barney Butter for it’s transportable packets. When it comes to almond butter, I like mine on the raw side (thick, homemade-like); BB can be a little sweet, but I clearly still like it, because I keep on buying it! Let me know what you think

  3. […] breakfast (same thing as yesterday) and lunch (green salad with grilled chicken, hummus, feta) were quite uneventful today, but dinner […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

