Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 15, 2012

Mid-Month Barre Star Challenge Update & Steamed Veggies 101

It being the middle of the month, I thought I would provide you an update to the “Barre Star Challenge” in which I am participating (20 classes in 30 days).  This is harder than I thought it would be.  Navigating my schedule around my determination to complete this challenge has proved, well, challenging.  Yesterday for instance, something came up and I could not attend my 9:30 AM class.  Every cancelled class is a step closer to failure…harsh I know, but I won’t let myself fail.  I compensated by signing up for class every night this week (whoa!), so wish me luck.  7 down, 13 to go…

I came home and fixed myself a post-workout snack:

Fage 0% yogurt, 1/4 c Kashi GoLean cereal, sunbutter blob

As I read my book and researched my next meal (I am quite the multi-tasker), I decided to finally breakout the steamer that Patrick gave me for my birthday.

I saw the salad that Lauren made recently that featured sauteed squash and zuchinni (from her own garden, no less), and it occurred to me that I have not cooked with those veggies in a while.  Not only do I like them cooked in a variety of ways, but I thought it was a great opportunity to use the steamer.  Although I had heard that steaming vegetables was the healthiest way to prepare them, I couldn’t have told you why.  That was nothing that a little Google search couldn’t change.

Overall, it is argued that unlike other cooking methods, steaming works to maintain vegetables’ nutritional value (without the use of butter, oil, etc.) and can even increase their nutrients and/or antioxidants in some cases.

Source: Livestrong.com

Works for me!

I didn’t do anything fancy (hence why this is just ‘101’), or add anything to the vegetables themselves; I simply opened the manual and read: Squash (16-30 mins); Zuchinni (12-18 mins).  After just having typed that, I realize now why the zuchinni didn’t come out perfectly…I oversteamed them!  They were a little soggy as I put the steamer on over 20 mins in order to ensure the squash were cooked.  Oops, ya live and ya learn I guess.

Still delicious all the same!

Steamed zuchinni and squash with roasted red pepper hummus, quinoa, baked arctic char

Piece of dark chocolate with crunchy PB for dessert

That does it for me folks, goodnight!

What is your favorite way to cook vegetables?

Responses

  1. […] was pretty cool.  I left on that note and went to barre class (class 12 of the barre star challenge!  8 more classes to […]

  2. […] I toasted to myself for finishing the Barre Star Challenge (20 classes in 30 days, baby!).  More on that and my winnings this […]

  3. […] was the last day for the Barre Star Challenge AND my 21st class.  You only needed to get to 20, but hey, I’m an […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

