Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 16, 2012

My Favorite Meal EVER: Chimichurri Lucianas

Chimichurri Lucianas…An original recipe at last!  OK, it’s not totally original…it was inspired by my friend Luciana, who I recently met at the beach over New Years.  She is Argentinian, born and bred, so when she offered to make dinner one night, I knew the whiff of flavor pouring from the kitchen had to be authentic.  Her meal is literally the best thing I have ever put in my mouth.  It seems simple enough, but what makes it is the chimichurri sauce (recipe below).  Mild and spicy; oily and “mustardy” all rolled into one.

Chimichurri Lucianas

Serves 4

For the Chimichurri Sauce

  • 1 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/4 c chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 cup EVOO
  • 1/3 c red wine vinegar
  • 3/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt
Combine all ingredients into a food processor, and grind/pulse until combined

For the Chimichurri Lucianas

  • 1 baguette of bread
  • Chicken sausages (or pork;  you can use veggie sausage too!)

Heat a skillet over medium-high heat.  Cook sausages 10-15 minutes until browned.

I paired this dish with a side of garlic broccoli, baked in the oven for 15 minutes on 400 degrees.  At ten minutes, I heat the bread in the oven as well.

 

Drizzle Smother the Lucianas with chimichurri sauce and be amazed my friends.  You will be amazed.

Goodnight!

 

Responses

  1. OMG I’m OBSESSED with Chimichurri sauce I ALWAYS order it when I find it on a menu, which is never! Totally copying this soon. I’ve also recently had a craving for good ole’ hot dogs–do you think the sausage + sauce would taste good on a hot dog bun?

    • The sauce tastes good on anything BUT the crispy whole wheat baguette makes it even better!

  2. […] salad with tomatoes, peppers, cukes, chicken sausage and garlicky broccoli with chimichurri sauce dressing (from last night); apple on the […]

  3. […] Green salad with veggies and grilled chicken, 1/2 avocado, chimichurri dressing […]

  4. […] sauce was the star of the show tonight.  My roommate made my Chimichuri Lucianas last night, and I was lucky to get her […]

  5. […] salad with sauteed tofu, chopped walnuts, chimichuri sauce; […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

