Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 17, 2012

Balancing Birthdays, Bar-B-Ques, and Booze

Oh My!  Or should I say Oh Summer…Yes, it is smack-dab in the middle of that special time of year, in which people just want to eat, drink, and be merry (or is that the winter holiday season?)  For me, the 4th of July represents the peak of it all, but rarely does the summer fun slow down from there.  Birthdays and bar-b-ques tend to fill the summer social calendar, and the concept of “the weekend” goes out the window.  Parties can take place on any day of the week (the summer don’t care).

If you are anything like me, you like to stay in on school nights (i.e. Monday – Thursday for those of you who have forgotten).  Not only am I exhausted after 10 hours at the office, but I prefer, no make that demand, 7-8 hours of sleep each night.  If you’ve read one article you have read them all: getting a good night’s sleep is important (and healthy!) for many reasons.  But it’s also because I find it a little difficult to be actively social after a hard day’s work.  No, I’m not a loner (not that there is anything wrong with that), but being tired can get the best of me, offsetting what some would call my “bubbly personality.”  Lastly, I’m trying to majorly cut down on alcohol consumption, sliding more towards the “Little to Moderate” side of the scale; not that I need alcohol to socialize or have fun (I once went a couple of months without drinking anything, including New Years Eve), but it is such a large part of the scene that I tend to get asked “why not.”  These questions can get a little annoying repetitive after a while for sure (my favorite response has been “I’m pregnant.”  The look on people’s faces with that one is worth it alone!).  And let’s face it, I’m not 21 anymore, and my 27-year-old body can’t handle much anymore.  Therefore, my decision/efforts to forgo “the party scene” more often than not is a healthy choice for me.  You know yourself better than anyone else!

But I also know that I need social interaction more than I give myself credit for.  I may have become more of an introvert in recent years, but a bad case of the blues, driven by over-time at work, and under-time with friends, has made me realize that I need to get out more.  What’s the saying: All work and no play…anywho, all I know is that all of one thing and none of another does not lead to balance, and balance is what I strive to achieve.  

Enter the trigger to the post: a birthday cookout on a Tuesday night…did I want to go?  Yes.  Did I want to skip my barre class?  No.  Could I do both?  Yes.  Did I find myself hesitating to do both after a long day? You know it.  I was tired.  However, I fast-forwarded my mind to dinner-time: eat alone, eat with friends…eat with friends!  And it was worth it (dinner pics down below).

Workout/Breakfast

5AM run/walk for 5 miles this morning.  This took me about an hour.

Blueberry-Banana-Flax Protein Pancake

On which I topped an almond/walnut butter blob, banana slices, cinnamon:

Covered in nut-buttery goodness!

Lunch

Spinach salad with tomatoes, peppers, cukes, chicken sausage and garlicky broccoli with chimichurri sauce dressing (from last night); apple on the side

 

Snacks

The last of my Silver Bars (This weekend I want to concoct a new protein bar recipe-stay tuned!)

 

Fruit Salad Smoothie before barre (they’re all different!)

 

In the mix:

  • frozen peaches
  • 1/2 frozen banana (for sweetness)
  • fresh blackberries
  • soy milk
  • 2 spoonfuls of plain soy yogurt
  • 2 handfuls of spinach

After barre class, I headed to Libbie Market to grab a sandwich for the cookout.  I knew there was going to be nothing but hamburgers and hot dogs offered, but I am not a huge red meat-eater (aside from the occasional hamburger when my iron levels are low).

Turkey, hummus, avocado, lettuce, cukes, tomatoes on a whole wheat wrap

 

Side of fruit

 

Lastly, while everyone else enjoyed their adult beverages, I cracked open a bottle of nice, cold Kombucha

 

I can assure you the beer and bottle of vodka is not mine…It’s theirs!

 

Better than dining alone.  Happy Birthday Sam!

Does your social calendar wear you thin, or are you more balanced?  What do you enjoy more: going out or staying in?

 

 

 

Responses

  1. I am a TOTAL introvert by nature and social gatherings definitely wear me thin. I’ve actually been at the breaking

    • Whoops didn’t finish that! At the breaking point from all of this wedding travel! I am so glad to be home for a few weeks, and I’ve found myself needing to turn down invitations for dinners and such because I just need some alone time. HOWEVER, when you WANT to be social, you absolutely should, and you clearly made the right decision for you in this situation!

  2. […] I topped it with an almond/walnut butter blob, the remaining 1/2 banana, sliced, cinnamon (same as yesterday) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

