Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 18, 2012

WIAW: A Circuit Sweat Session

Hey there!  I hope everyone’s week is going well…we’re almost over the hump.  Which reminds me!

Happy WIAW!

 

Thanks Jenn for hosting another day filled with fun, food, and fitness!  I really do love the theme this month.  I have actually kept it in the back of my mind before, during, and after some workouts to keep me motivated.  It has also inspired me to switch it up.  For example, today, I could have gone on the same ole’ 5 mile walk I have done in recent mornings (yawn), but when I thought about “fitness” and what the word means to me, I could feel myself wanting to sweat!  Don’t get me wrong, I consider walking a workout and find it to be a great low-impact, relaxing way to get moving, but I was craving high-intensity today, so I hit the gym.  Good thing I did too, it was already 80 degrees when I walked out (at 5AM!)  Ick.

I started off by doing 25 minutes on the stair climber with my friend Kate Beckinsdale:

Be careful what you wish for…I was definitely sweaty afterwards.  There’s something about the stair climber, I’m telling ya.

While reading, I stumbled upon an interesting insert, and the inspiration behind my next workout

On my way to the gym, I planned to incorporate a jump rope circuit of some kind, but I was not sure what else I was going to do.  Lo’ and behold, my question was answered.  I had 10 minutes before I had to head home, so I worked in a quick circuit sprint:

1 min:  Jump Rope

1 min:  Kettle ball swing (overhead)

1 min: Jump Rope

1 min: Kettle ball lower-and-lift (right side)

1 min: Jump Rope

1 min:  Kettle ball lower-and-lift (left side)

1 min: Jump rope

Done!

I used an 8 pound kettle ball; I also rested 30 seconds in between each exercise.

Breakfast

Another Blueberry-Banana-Flax Protein Pancake

 

I topped it with an almond/walnut butter blob, the remaining 1/2 banana, sliced, cinnamon (same as yesterday)

Lunch

Green salad with veggies and grilled chicken, 1/2 avocado, chimichurri dressing

 

which I paired with an apple at work (as always)

 

and before I move on to dinner, the best thing happened to me at work today (I have a low tolerance for positive things)

My co-worker was once talking about a restaurant he frequents with “the most delicious cornbread.”

“The most delicious cornbread?!  I love cornbread!”

He must have remembered I said that, because he came bearing gifts this afternoon!

You should have seen my face.  Little kid on Christmas over here.  So when my stomach grumbled a couple of hours later, I reached for one thing, and one thing only…(OK 2 things actually)

A piece of cornbread and a packet of BB Almond Butter

 

Yum.

Dinner

After getting out of an appointment around 6PM, I was too tired and hungry to make dinner myself.  I did make the side salad (below) but I had Ellwood’s do the dirty work.

Sweet-N-Sour Tempeh, Gazpacho, plum-goat cheese arugula salad

Plum-goat cheese arugula salad

  • Arugula
  • 2 small plums, diced
  • walnuts
  • goat cheese to taste
  • Dressing: EVOO, red wine vinegar, 1/2 tsp honey, lemon juice

So refreshing!

Last but not least, a piece of dark chocolate with crunchy PB for dessert

 

 

Off to watch the Bachelorette with my roommate (DVR’d of course).  Goodnight!

 

 

 

Responses

  1. […] I mentioned yesterday, I’ve been thinking a little bit more about fitness; not only on a day-to-day basis, but also […]

  2. […] or increase the incline on my treadmill every couple of minutes.  I never thought I would be doing this kind of circuit workout  that I do occasionally  these days.  The first time I tried one of Julie’s circuit […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

